Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

French urban art or street art

Well anchored in the urban landscape, street art brings together different forms of art produced in public spaces: from graffiti on the walls to stickers, including mosaics and collage. This artistic movement was born towards the end of the 20th century and continues to be perpetuated in the streets and in art galleries all over the world. Focus on the history and major works of French urban art with La CHOOSE Galerie in Paris .

French urban art: the genesis

If murals and graffiti have existed since prehistoric times, it is through urban art that they have gained their letters of nobility. In France, the emergence of urban art coincides with the events of May 1968, although five years before, the artist Gérard Zlotykamien had already paved the way with his spray drawings of ghostly figures.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Epsylon Point, painter and musician, is one of the most influential figures in French urban art . It is in particular to him that we owe the first color stencil works in the early 1980s. Alongside other renowned stencils such as Blek the rat and Marie Rouffet, Epsylon Point will give a new dimension to art. urban French , that of a free and deeply expressive artistic movement.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

To express their works, street artists use the cardboard or metal matrix, reproduce drawings on the walls, or any other flat surface. This “ephemeral art” finds a large audience with a heterogeneous public, passionate or not of art, and which ends up memorizing their visual signatures.

Urban art techniques

Street artists use different tools to express their works: spray paint, stickers, brush, roller, paints, textiles, adhesive tape, video projection or light painting. The forms of expression are free: mixed media and collage, mosaic and tiling, stencil, urban knitting, graffiti, painting, collage of digital photos, tag, etc.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Some artists have marked urban art with their particular techniques, such as Jeans Faucheur and its painted posters, stencils by Jef Aérosol or stickers by Clet Abraham.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Epsylon Point works with many techniques: tags, stencils on canvas or on the wall, torn posters. His method consists of painting on very abstract freehand painted backgrounds on which he reproduces stencils often inspired by current affairs photos or political slogan.

Epsylon Point in the spotlight at La CHOOSE Galerie

The CHOOSE Galerie in Paris in the 8th arrondissement offers an overview of the works that have marked French urban art and honors one of the pioneers of this artistic movement: Epsylon Point.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The gallery presents an unprecedented exhibition of his works through the decades: from “Erras es humano”, a stencil on canvas from 1987 to “Culture” (1998), including his recent works: “Sur le Départ” (2015) , “Père et fils” (2015), “En famille” (2020) and “Place en Inde” (2020).

In addition to the exhibition of his works, La CHOOSE Galerie is preparing a monographic project on the artist.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Art urbain français ou street art

Bien ancré dans le paysage urbain, le street art rassemble différentes formes d’art réalisées dans l’espace public : du graffiti sur les murs au sticker, en passant par la mosaïque et le collage. Ce mouvement artistique est né vers la fin du XXe siècle et continue de se perpétuer dans la rue et dans les galeries d’art aux quatre coins du monde. Focus sur l’histoire et les grandes œuvres de l’art urbain français avec La CHOOSE Galerie à Paris.

L’art urbain français : la genèse

Si les peintures murales et les graffiti existent depuis la Préhistoire, c’est à travers l’art urbain qu’ils ont gagné leurs lettres de noblesse. En France, l’éclosion de l’art urbain coïncide avec les évènements de Mai 1968, bien que cinq années auparavant, l’artiste Gérard Zlotykamien avait déjà ouvert la voie avec ses dessins à la bombe de silhouettes fantomatiques.

Epsylon Point, artiste peintre et musicien, est l’une des figures les plus influentes de l’art urbain français. C’est notamment à lui que l’on doit les premières œuvres de pochoir en couleur au début des années 1980. Aux côtés d’autres pochoiristes renommés comme Blek le rat et Marie Rouffet, Epsylon Point va redonner une dimension nouvelle à l’art urbain français, celle d’un mouvement artistique libre et profondément expressif.

Pour exprimer leurs œuvres, les artistes de rue utilisent la matrice de carton ou de métal, reproduisent des dessins sur les murs, ou toute autre surface plane. Cet « art éphémère » trouve une large audience auprès d’un public hétéroclite, passionné ou non d’art, et qui finit par mémoriser leurs signatures visuelles.

Les techniques de l’art urbain

Les artistes de rue ont recours à différents outils pour exprimer leurs œuvres : bombe aérosol, stickers, pinceau, rouleau, peintures, textile, ruban adhésif, vidéo projection ou lampe (light painting). Les formes d’expression, elles, sont libres : techniques mixtes et collage, mosaïque et carrelage, pochoir, tricot urbain, graffiti, peinture, collage de clichés numérisés, tag, etc.

Certains artistes ont marqué l’art urbain avec leurs techniques particulières, à l’instar de Jeans Faucheur et ses affiches peintes, les pochoirs de Jef Aérosol ou encore les autocollants de Clet Abraham.

Epsylon Point travaille pour sa part avec de nombreuses techniques : tags, pochoirs sur toile ou sur mur, affiches déchirées. Sa méthode consiste à peindre sur des fonds très abstraits peints à main levée sur lesquels il reproduit des pochoirs souvent inspirés de photos d’actualité ou de slogan politiques.

Epsylon Point à l’honneur chez La CHOOSE Galerie

La CHOOSE Galerie à Paris dans le 8e arrondissement propose une vue d’ensemble des œuvres qui ont marqué l’art urbain français et met à l’honneur l’un des pionniers de ce mouvement artistique : Epsylon Point.

La galerie présente une exposition inédite de ses œuvres à travers les décennies : de « Erras es humano », un pochoir sur toile de 1987 à « Culture » (1998), en passant par ses œuvres récentes : « Sur le départ » (2015), « Père et fils » (2015), « En famille » (2020) ou encore « Place en Inde » (2020).

Outre l’exposition de ses œuvres, La CHOOSE Galerie prépare un projet monographique sur l’artiste.

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales