Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Street artist protesting and protesting

In its origins, street art was a means of artistic expression to convey censored political messages in traditional media. This purely protest function subsequently evolved and more and more, urban artistic creations serve as a support for campaigns to promote cultural products. Focus on the most influential protesting and protesting street artists.

Street art and its relationship with society

For many urban artists, street art is a mode of artistic expression allowing them to formulate their convictions, a way to convey strong and concise messages as close as possible to the public, as the saying goes "a picture is worth a thousand words. ". Street art is a forum accessible to any individual wishing to challenge public opinion on social issues, the climate emergency, immigration and many other societal issues.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In France, street art blossomed from 1963, carried by pioneering artists like Gérard Zlotykamien and a few years by Ernest Pignon-Ernest. This period coincides with the emergence of a disruptive cultural revolution in the post-war years. The thirst for a more egalitarian society provides disillusioned youth with the ideal breeding ground for emancipating themselves and formulating their demands . From there, street art has become a particularly effective tool to convey messages on the walls of our ordinary streets, building facades and everything that public space can offer.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Epsylon Point, one of the pioneers of street art in France and the pioneer of color stencil, epitomized the image of the artist rebellious , nonconformist and anti-system. For him, "writing on the walls is a claiming act ", artistic and not subversive in the service of a cause. This assertion rules out acts of vandalism of urban art, which harm others and have no artistic value.

A unique journey

Like many street artists of his time, Epsylon Point mixed with spray-paint and color stencils from 1983 onwards. His first color works brought a new take on street art and the artist began to forge himself. a reputation in the art world.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Epsylon Point develops its technique for the color stencil alongside its friend La Signe and invests the Balard district in the 15th arrondissement of Paris. In 1985, he took part in the first gathering of the graffiti and urban art movement organized by the VLP in Seine-Saint-Denis in the city of Bondy alongside other influential figures such as Blek le rat, Jef Aérosol, Speedy Graphito, Miss Tic, SP38.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Towards the end of the 1990s, Epsylon Point set up its workshop in Hauts-de-Seine and produced stencils addressing different themes: from the human condition to world conflicts, including eroticism. In the 8th arrondissement of Paris, the CHOOSE Galerie becomes its official gallery, exhibiting all of the artist's periods.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Street artist revendicatif et contestataire

À ses origines, le street art était un moyen d’expression artistique permettant de faire passer des messages politiques censurés dans les médias traditionnels. Cette fonction purement revendicative a par la suite évolué et de plus en plus, les créations artistiques urbaines servent de support aux campagnes de promotion des produits culturels. Focus sur les street artists revendicatifs et contestataires les plus influents.

Le street art et son rapport avec la société

Pour de nombreux artistes urbains, le street art est un mode d’expression artistique permettant de formuler ses convictions, un moyen de faire passer des messages forts et concis au plus près du public, comme le dit l’adage « une image vaut mille mots ». Le street art constitue une tribune accessible à tout individu désireux d’interpeller l’opinion sur les questions de société, l’urgence climatique, l’immigration et bien d’autres problématiques sociétales.

En France, le street art a éclos à partir de 1963, porté par des artistes précurseurs comme Gérard Zlotykamien et quelques années par Ernest Pignon-Ernest. Cette époque coïncide avec l’émergence d’une révolution culturelle disruptive des années d’après-guerre. La soif d’une société plus égalitaire procure à une jeunesse désabusée le terreau idéal pour s’émanciper et formuler ses revendications. À partir de là, le street art est devenu un outil particulièrement efficace pour faire passer des messages sur les murs de nos rues ordinaires, des façades d’immeuble et tout ce que peut offrir comme support l’espace public.

Epsylon Point, l’un des pionniers du street art en France et le pionnier du pochoir en couleur, incarnait parfaitement l’image de l’artiste contestataire, anticonformiste et anti-système. Pour lui, « écrire sur les murs est un acte revendicateur », artistique et non subversif au service d’une cause. Cette assertion écarte les actes de vandalisme de l’art urbain, lesquels font du tort à autrui et n’ont aucune valeur artistique.

Un parcours unique

Comme de nombreux artistes de rue de son époque, Epsylon Point mélange au graffiti à la bombe et au pochoir en couleur à partir de 1983. Ses premières œuvres en couleur apportent un nouveau regard sur le street art et l’artiste a commencé à se forger une réputation dans le monde de l’art.

Epsylon Point développe sa technique pour le pochoir en couleur aux côtés de son amie La Signe et investit le quartier de Balard dans le 15e arrondissement de Paris. En 1985, il participe au premier rassemblement du mouvement graffiti et d’art urbain organisé par les VLP en Seine-Saint-Denis dans la ville de Bondy aux côtés d’autres figures influentes comme Blek le rat, Jef Aérosol, Speedy Graphito, Miss Tic, SP38.

Vers la fin des années 1990, Epsylon Point installe son atelier dans les Hauts-de-Seine et produit des pochoirs abordant différentes thématiques : de la condition humaine aux conflits mondiaux, en passant par l’érotisme. Dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, la CHOOSE Galerie devient sa galerie officielle en exposant toutes les périodes de l’artiste.