Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Promote an artist of the French graffiti movement

The CHOOSE Galerie welcomes you to the 8th arrondissement in Paris to help you discover the evolution of the French art scene, especially urban art. With this in mind, we promote the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of the French graffiti movement .

Focus on the French graffiti movement

The word “graffiti” designates an inscription or a more or less elaborate drawing painted on a wall, monuments and all kinds of objects, in private spaces, but most often, on the public highway.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

If the practice has existed since ancient times, since it is found in ancient Greece and the Roman Empire, the art movement as we know it was born in the late 1960s in Philadelphia, in the state of Pennsylvania. The phenomenon quickly landed in France thanks to the social movements of May 1968, in the form of political slogans. Brush, roller, spray paint and silkscreened posters allow students from all backgrounds to express themselves through increasingly studied formulas. These militant messages are at the origin of the tradition of aesthetic graffiti in the streets of Paris.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Just like the poetry of the writings, their graphic quality is continuously improving. The arrival of the third millennium was thus accompanied by a “new generation” with a shift to a more square form of lettering. In addition, modern spray technologies make it possible to speed up painting and obtain new colors and effects. While drawing its inspiration from “old school” techniques, this generation gradually erases the traces of the previous one, in particular by painting over old inscriptions, a practice called “toying”.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

French urban art has won its letters of nobility, and the most talented in this field now have their place in the exhibition rooms of Parisian galleries, where their works are a resounding success. It is with this in mind, that is to say to offer it the best possible visibility, that we have decided to collaborate with Epsylon Point, a recognized street artist and one of the precursors of the French graffiti movement.

Who is Epsylon Point?

At just 70 years old, Epsylon Point is an essential artist of the French graffiti movement . This former Dijon Fine Arts graduate, who made his debut as a photographer and performer, was the first to use the 1983 color stencil and took part in the first street art gathering in France. He refined his technique and trained many artists, especially in Turin where he spent several years.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Today raised to the rank of “living legend” of urban art in L'Hexagone, it has become a source of inspiration for artists of all stripes. If no label can be attributed to him, the popularity of his works cannot be denied. On abstract backgrounds painted by freehand, political slogans or images stand out dealing with his favorite themes: society, the human condition and its great tragedies, world conflicts, music ...

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In personal and group exhibitions in France or abroad, his creations are praised by experts and the public.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Promouvoir un artiste du mouvement graffiti français

La CHOOSE Galerie vous accueille dans le 8e arrondissement à Paris afin de vous faire découvrir l’évolution de la scène artistique française, notamment l’art urbain. Dans cette optique, nous promouvons l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier du mouvement graffiti français.

Zoom sur le mouvement graffiti français

Le mot « graffiti » désigne une inscription ou un dessin plus ou moins élaboré peint sur un mur, des monuments et toutes sortes d’objets, dans des espaces privés, mais le plus souvent, sur la voie publique.

Si la pratique existe depuis des époques reculées, puisqu’on en retrouve dans la Grèce antique et l’Empire romain, le mouvement artistique tel que nous le connaissons est né à la fin des années 60 à Philadelphie, dans l’état de Pennsylvanie. Le phénomène a débarqué rapidement en France à la faveur des mouvements sociaux de mai 1968, sous la forme de slogans politiques. Pinceau, rouleau, bombe de peinture et affiches sérigraphiées permettent aux étudiants de tous horizons de s’exprimer au travers de formules de plus en plus étudiées. Ces messages militants sont à l’origine de la tradition du graffiti à visée esthétique dans les rues parisiennes.

Tout comme la poésie des écrits, leur qualité graphique s’améliore continuellement. L’arrivée du troisième millénaire s’est ainsi accompagnée d’une « nouvelle génération » avec un passage à une forme plus carrée du lettrage. Par ailleurs, les technologies de spray modernes permettent de gagner en vitesse de peinture et d’obtenir des couleurs et effets inédits. Tout en puisant son inspiration des techniques « old school », cette génération efface progressivement les traces de la précédente, notamment en peignant par-dessus d’anciennes inscriptions, pratique appelée « toying ».

L’art urbain français a gagné ses lettres de noblesse, et les plus talentueux dans ce domaine ont désormais leur place dans les salles d’exposition des galeries parisiennes, où leurs œuvres connaissent un franc succès. C’est dans cette optique, c’est-à-dire lui offrir la meilleure visibilité possible, que nous avons décidé de collaborer avec Epsylon Point, street artiste reconnu et un des précurseurs du mouvement graffiti français.

Qui est Epsylon Point ?

À tout juste 70 ans, Epsylon Point est un artiste incontournable du mouvement graffiti français. Cet ancien des Beaux-arts de Dijon, qui a fait ses débuts en tant que photographe et performeur, est le premier à avoir utilisé le pochoir en couleur 1983 et participe au premier rassemblement dédié au street art en France. Il affine sa technique et forme de nombreux artistes, notamment à Turin où il passe plusieurs années.

Aujourd’hui érigé au rang de « légende vivante » de l’art urbain dans L’Hexagone, il est devenu une source d’inspiration pour des artistes de tous bords. Si aucune étiquette ne peut lui être attribuée, la popularité de ses œuvres ne se dément pas. Sur des fonds abstraits peints à main levée se détachent des slogans politiques ou images traitant de ses thèmes de prédilection : la société, la condition humaine et ses grandes tragédies, les conflits mondiaux, la musique…

Dans des expositions personnelles et collectives en France ou à l’étranger, ses créations sont encensées par les experts et par le public.

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales