Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Street art and painter

You have certainly come across their works on a street corner, on the facade of a building: street artists compete in creativity to affix their visual signature. In this article, discover some of the street art painters who have marked the history of this artistic movement over the years.

The great figures of street art

Mosaic, graffiti, stencil, urban knitting: street art has marked the urban landscape for decades. In France, this artistic movement was born at the beginning of the 1960s, notably with the first aerosol spray paintings by Gérard Zlotykamien in the “trou des Halles” site in Paris and the first stenciled poster collages by Ernest Pignon. -Ernest on the Albion plateau. However, it was with the events of May 1968 that this art really took off.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Epsylon Point, one of the pioneers of urban art in France, was the first street artist to use color stencils in France, in 1982, after having started in 1979 to spray hands free in the streets of Dijon. The artist has since become a benchmark and has influenced many stencil artists . Epsylon Point expresses itself through his works on topical subjects, politics, using different techniques: stencils of course, but also torn posters, tags, paint.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Recognized by his peers, he took part in various cultural and artistic events in France, such as the graffiti and urban art movement in Bondy in 1985 or the celebration of the 10th anniversary of the Center Pompidou in 1987. In the 1990s, the works of Epsylon Point are exhibited in European museums and art galleries, to name only the Graffiti Museum in Leipzig in Germany (1991), the Theater of Esch-sur-Alzette in Luxembourg (1991), the Théâtre de la Louvrière , in Belgium (1991).

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

If Epsylon Point has deeply marked the history of urban art in France, other artists have also influenced this artistic movement through their works.

Street art in all its splendor

Jef aerosol, whose real name is Jean-François Perroy, is one of the emblematic figures of the stencil. Coming from the first wave of urban art in the early 1980s, he produced his first stencil in Tours in 1982. A talented portrait painter, he reproduces on the facades of buildings the portraits of artistic personalities of his youth such as John Lennon, Jimmy Hendrix or Elvis Presley. However, the major part of his works is devoted to anonymous street people, those that we hardly notice: beggars, street musicians ...

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Internationally, Banksy has won its letters of nobility with its anti-system and anti-militarist works. This British street artist is part of the generation that marked urban art in the 1990s and 2000s with masterpieces such as “The Little Girl with a Ball”, a stencil made on Waterloo Bridge in South Bank (London) in 2002 or Kissing Policemen, Brighton (2005).

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

At the CHOOSE Galerie in the 8th arrondissement of Paris, we have dedicated an unprecedented exhibition of works by Epsylon Point through the decades: some historical ones such as “Errar es humano” 1987, but also more recent works by the artist which continue. to surprise us.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Street art et artiste peintre

Vous avez certainement croisé leurs œuvres au coin d’une rue, sur la façade d’un immeuble : les artistes de rue rivalisent de créativité pour apposer leur signature visuelle. Découvrez dans cet article quelques-uns des artistes peintres du street art qui ont marqué à travers les années l’histoire de ce mouvement artistique.

Les grandes figures du street art

Mosaïque, graffiti, pochoir, tricot urbain : le street art a marqué le paysage urbain depuis des décennies. En France, ce mouvement artistique est né au début des années 1960, avec notamment les premières peintures à la bombe aérosol de Gérard Zlotykamien dans le chantier du « trou des Halles » à Paris et les premiers collages d’affiches au pochoir d’Ernest Pignon-Ernest sur le plateau d’Albion. Cependant, c’est avec les évènements de Mai 1968 que cet art prend véritablement son envol.

Epsylon Point, l’un des pionniers de l’art urbain en France, est le premier street artist à utiliser le pochoir en couleur en France, en 1982, après avoir commencé en 1979 à bomber à mains libres dans les rues de Dijon. L’artiste est depuis devenu une référence et a influencé nombre d’artistes pochoiristes. Epsylon Point s’exprime à travers ses œuvres sur des sujets d’actualité, la politique, en utilisant différentes techniques : pochoirs bien sûr, mais aussi des affiches déchirées, des tags, de la peinture. 

Reconnu par ses pairs, il participe à diverses manifestations culturelles et artistiques en France, comme le mouvement graffiti et d’art urbain à Bondy en 1985 ou la célébration du 10e anniversaire du Centre Pompidou en 1987. Dans les années 1990, les œuvres d’Epsylon Point sont exposées dans les musées et galeries d’art européens, pour ne citer que le Musée du Graffiti à Leipzig en Allemagne (1991), le Théâtre d’Esch-sur-Alzette au Luxembourg (1991), le Théâtre de la Louvrière, en Belgique (1991).

Si Epsylon Point a profondément marqué l’histoire de l’art urbain en France, d’autres artistes ont également influencé par leurs œuvres ce mouvement artistique.

Le street art dans toute sa splendeur

Jef aérosol, de son vrai nom Jean-François Perroy, est une des figures emblématiques du pochoir. Issu de la première vague d’art urbain au début des années 1980, il réalise son premier pochoir à Tours en 1982. Portraitiste de talent, il reproduit sur les façades des immeubles les portraits des personnalités artistiques de sa jeunesse comme John Lennon, Jimmy Hendrix ou Elvis Presley. Cependant, la majeure partie de ses œuvres est consacrée aux anonymes de rue, ceux que l’on remarque peu : les mendiants, les musiciens de rue…

A l’international, Banksy a gagné ses lettres de noblesse avec ses œuvres anti-systèmes et antimilitaristes. Ce street artist britannique fait partie de la génération qui a marqué l’art urbain des années 1990 et 2000 avec des chefs-d’œuvre comme « La Petite Fille au ballon », pochoir fait sur le Waterloo Bridge à South Bank (Londres) en 2002 ou encore Kissing Policemen, Brighton (2005).

Chez la CHOOSE Galerie dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, nous avons consacré une exposition inédite des œuvres d’Epsylon Point à travers les décennies : certaines historiques comme « Errar es humano » 1987, mais aussi les œuvres plus récentes de l’artiste qui continuent à nous surprendre.