Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Stencil artists in color France and Europe

Epsylon Point , the pioneer of color stencils in France , Jef Aérosol, Banksy, Roamcouch: stencil artists have earned the respect of the community of painters in general, and street artists in particular. But who are these great figures of the colored stencil? How are they expressed?

Epsylon Point, the first color stencil artist in France

In France, the artistic movement of urban art or street art emerged in the mid-1960s, carried by talented artists like Ernest Pignon-Ernest or Epsylon Point. The latter, to whom we owe the paternity of the color stencil technique, deeply marked the history of this art and influenced several generations of artists.

Born in 1950, Epsylon Point is recognized as the pioneer of color stencils (1983). Passionate about art, he attended the Fine Arts School in Dijon and started out as a photographer. During a performance in 1979, Epsylon Point discovered a sudden vocation for the spray paint, then still in its infancy. He describes her as "a flash" that will never leave him.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Like many street artists of his time, Epsylon Point did graffiti before devoting himself fully to stenciling from 1983. His first color works brought a new perspective on street art and the artist began to make a name for himself. in the artistic world. Thus, in 1985, he participated in the first gathering of the graffiti and urban art movement organized by the VLP in Seine-Saint-Denis in the city of Bondy alongside other influential figures such as Jef Aérosol, Miss. Tic, Blek the rat, Speedy Graphito, SP38.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Since then, the machine has not stopped and the works of Epsylon Point are now exhibited in contemporary art galleries all over the world. In the 8th arrondissement, La CHOOSE Galerie is currently devoting an unprecedented exhibition of his outstanding works to him: “Errar es humano” 1987, “Birth” 1999, “La gare” 2008 or even “La decépitude de l'énergie” 2020.

Banksy, Roamcouch

The urban art fever has spread throughout Europe and the stencil technique has given it its letters of nobility. The stencil, this technique of reproducing drawings making it possible to obtain two distinct effects, was popularized by other talented artists such as Jef Aérosol, author of the famous "Chuuuttt" in Paris, near the Pampidou Center, but also at the abroad via the works of the Briton Banksy and the Japanese Roamcouch.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Banksy is renowned for his satirical urban art and his works often express humorous images, sometimes combined with slogans. Among his most striking stencils: Girl with Balloon (2020), which can be seen on Waterloo Bridge in South Bank (London), Kissing Policemen, Brighton (2005), or even The Rude Lord.

Another contemporary figure of the color stencil : the Japanese Roamcouch, forerunner of a new particularly meticulous technique. The artist is able to work over 50 layers for a stencil.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Les artistes pochoir en couleur France et en Europe 

Epsylon Point, le pionnier du pochoir en couleur en France, Jef Aérosol, Banksy, Roamcouch : les artistes pochoiristes ont gagné le respect de la communauté des artistes peintres en général, et des artistes de rue en particulier. Mais qui sont ces grandes figures du pochoir en couleur ? Comment s’expriment-elles ?

Epsylon Point, premier artiste pochoir en couleur en France

En France, le mouvement artistique de l’art urbain ou street art a émergé vers le milieu des années 1960, porté par des artistes talentueux comme Ernest Pignon-Ernest ou Epsylon Point. Ce dernier, à qui l’on doit la paternité de la technique du pochoir en couleur, a marqué profondément l’histoire de cet art et influencé plusieurs générations d’artistes.

Né en 1950, Epsylon Point est reconnu comme le pionnier du pochoir en couleur (1983). Passionné d’art, il fait l’école des Beaux-arts de Dijon et débute comme photographe. Lors d’une performance en 1979, Epsylon Point se découvre une vocation soudaine pour la bombe de peinture, alors encore à ses balbutiements. Il la décrit comme « un flash » qui ne le quittera jamais.

Comme de nombreux artistes de rue de son époque, Epsylon Point fait du graffiti avant de se consacrer véritablement au pochoir à partir de 1983. Ses premières œuvres en couleur apportent un nouveau regard sur le street art et l’artiste commence à se faire un nom dans le milieu artistique. Ainsi, en 1985, il participe au premier rassemblement du mouvement graffiti et d’art urbain organisé par les VLP en Seine-Saint-Denis dans la ville de Bondy aux côtes d’autres figures influentes comme Jef Aérosol, Miss. Tic, Blek le rat, Speedy Graphito, SP38.

Depuis, la machine ne s’est plus arrêtée et les œuvres d’Epsylon Point sont aujourd’hui exposées dans les galeries d’art contemporain aux quatre coins du monde. Dans le 8e arrondissement, La CHOOSE Galerie lui consacre actuellement une exposition inédite de ses œuvres marquantes : « Errar es humano » 1987, « Naissance » 1999, « La gare » 2008 ou encore « La décrépitude de l’âme » 2020.

Banksy, Roamcouch

La fièvre de l’art urbain a gagné toute l’Europe et la technique du pochoir lui a donné ses lettres de noblesse. Le pochoir, cette technique de reproduction de dessins permettant d’obtenir deux effets distincts, a été popularisé par d’autres artistes de talent comme Jef Aérosol, auteur du célèbre « Chuuuttt » à Paris, près du Centre Pampidou, mais aussi à l’étranger via les œuvres du Britannique Banksy et du Japonais Roamcouch.

Banksy est réputé pour son art urbain satirique et ses œuvres expriment souvent des images humoristiques, parfois combinées avec des slogans. Parmi ses pochoirs les plus marquants : Girl with Balloon (2020), que l’on peut apercevoir sur le Waterloo Bridge à South Bank (Londres), Kissing Policemen, Brighton (2005), ou encore The Rude Lord.

Autre figure contemporaine du pochoir en couleur : le Japonais Roamcouch, précurseur d’une nouvelle technique particulièrement minutieuse. L’artiste est capable de travailler plus de 50 couches pour un pochoir.

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales