Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Who is the street art artist who has influenced the younger generations?

In the history of street art, there are those who paved the way for revolutionary techniques, like Epsylon Point and its colored stencils, and those who bring a new look to this art through their works. But who is the most influential figure in street art ?

Influential street art artists

Street art or urban art as we know it was born in the 1960s in the United States. This artistic movement was started almost by accident by two artists from Philadelphia, Cornbread and Cool Earl, who had fun tagging the walls with messages of love. But the movement quickly spread to New York where graffiti ended up flooding subway trains, the facades of walls and buildings, sidewalks… In short, the public space was filled with them.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The street art fever was then exported to Europe, and Paris, the cradle of this artistic movement, was to know in the early 1960s its founding fathers like Zlotykamien and Ernest Pignon Ernest. Among the precursors of this art form: Epsylon Point, pioneer of the color and large stencil . Epsylon Point is a painter who cut his teeth at the School of Fine Arts in Dijon; he tried his hand at his first aerosol cans in the late 1970s.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

During one of his performances, he discovered a vocation for color stenciling and developed his technique, from 1983, alongside his friend La Signe. The artist does not know it yet, but he will become one of the most influential figures of the color stencil, in France, but also abroad.

The great European figures

Graffiti, tags, stencils, installations, mosaics, will gradually mark the urban landscapes, not without provoking the ire of the public authorities who will go so far as to sanction heavy fines the invasion of the public space by these drawings and tags in all genres.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

But that hasn't stopped the movement from gaining momentum. A little everywhere in Europe, names are distilled, like Banksy, the brothers Os Gemeos, JR or Invader, who become recognized and essential figures of street art . Bansky, to whom we owe “The Girl with the Ball”, a stencil made on Waterloo Bridge in London, even manages to invest the world of “institutionalized” art. Some of his works, such as "Keep it Spotless" and "The Rude Lord" have sold for high prices in auctions.

The CHOOSE Gallery

In the 8th arrondissement of Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie has chosen to devote an exhibition dedicated to the hallway stencils of Epsylon Point. Street artist and pioneer of urban art in France, this artist has for more than forty years expressed his art and transmitted his view of the world through his denunciatory and anti-system works. Among the paintings exhibited on site, you will have the opportunity to admire some historical ones such as "Le mur Geisha" 1990 and "Errar es humano" 1987, but also his latest works such as "Le Charron", "Je suis Charlie" or again "The decrepitude of the soul".

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Qui est l’artiste street art qui a influencé les jeunes générations ?

Dans l’histoire du street art, il y a ceux qui ont ouvert la voie à des techniques révolutionnaires, comme Epsylon Point et ses pochoirs en couleur, et ceux qui apportent un nouveau regard à cet art à travers leurs œuvres. Mais qui est la figure la plus influente du street art ?

Les artistes influents du street art

Le street art ou art urbain tel qu’on le connait est né dans les années 1960 aux Etats-Unis. Ce mouvement artistique a été lancé presque par hasard par deux artistes de Philadelphie, Cornbread et Cool Earl, lesquels s’amusaient à taguer les murs de messages d’amour. Mais le mouvement s’est rapidement répandu jusqu’à gagner New-York où les graffiti ont fini par inonder les rames des métros, les façades des murs et des immeubles, les trottoirs… Bref, l’espace public en était rempli.

La fièvre du street art s’est ensuite exportée vers l’Europe, et Paris, ville berceau de ce mouvement artistique, allait connaitre au début des années 1960 ses pères fondateurs comme Zlotykamien et Ernest Pignon Ernest. Parmi les précurseurs de cette forme d’art : Epsylon Point, pionnier du pochoir en couleur et grande. Epsylon Point est un artiste peintre qui a fait ses armes à l’école des Beaux-arts de Dijon ; il s’essaya à ses premières bombes aérosols à la fin des années 1970.

Lors de l’une de ses performances, il se découvre une vocation pour le pochoir en couleur et développe sa technique, à partir de 1983, aux côtés de son amie La Signe. L’artiste ne le sait pas encore, mais il va devenir l’une des figures les plus influentes du pochoir en couleur, en France, mais aussi à l’étranger.

Les grandes figures européennes

Graffitis, tags, pochoirs, installations, mosaïques, vont progressivement marquer les paysages urbains, non sans provoquer l’ire des autorités publiques qui iront jusqu’à sanctionner de lourdes amendes l’envahissement de l’espace public par ces dessins et tags en tous genres.

Mais cela n’a pas empêché le mouvement de prendre de l’ampleur. Un peu partout en Europe, des noms se distillent, à l’instar de Banksy, les frères Os Gemeos, JR ou encore Invader, qui deviennent des figures reconnues et incontournables du street art. Bansky, à qui l’on doit « La fille au ballon », pochoir fait sur Waterloo Bridge de Londres, parvient même à investir le monde de l’art « institutionnalisé ». Certaines de ses œuvres, comme « Keep it Spotless » et « The Rude Lord », se sont vendues à prix d’or lors de ventes aux enchères.

La CHOOSE Galery

Dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie a choisi de consacrer une exposition dédiée aux pochoirs en couloir d’Epsylon Point. Street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France, cet artiste a pendant plus de quarante ans exprimé son art et transmis son regard sur le monde à travers ses œuvres dénonciatrices et anti-systèmes. Parmi les peintures exposées sur place, vous aurez l’occasion d’admirer certaines historiques comme « Le mur Geisha » 1990 et « Errar es humano » 1987, mais aussi ses dernières œuvres telles que « Le Charron », « Je suis Charlie » ou encore « La décrépitude de l’âme ».