Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Epsylon Point, the precursor of urban art in France

Its name is probably not unknown to you: Epsylon Point marked the history of urban art in France with its first color stencils, works of which it claims the paternity. How did this graffiti artist born in the middle of the 20th century discover street art? What are his most significant works? La CHOOSE Galerie in the 8th arrondissement of Paris tells you all about the artist.

Epsylon Point: the story of a passionate man

Passionate about art since his childhood, Epsylon Point took the step of street art at the end of the 1970s, even though he had just graduated from Fine Arts in Dijon. The passion for street art appeared to him as “a flash” according to him, during a performance produced in the late 1970s.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

“I had the impulse to cover a screen on which I was projecting images with black paint. I took a spray of paint and there it was like a flash ”. From that moment on, urban art never left the artist and began to emerge the first sketches of the colored stencil. The technique he developed alongside his friend La Signe is unprecedented and its echo over the years will influence many street artists around the world.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In 1985, while the name of Epsylon Point is still unknown to the general public, he participated in the first gathering of the graffiti and urban art movement organized by the VLP in Seine-Saint-Denis in the city of Bondy. Other great street art figures were also there, to name only Jef Aérosol, Blek le rat, Speedy Graphito.

Exhibitions of his works

After moving to Turin, where he trained many artists in color stencil techniques, Epsylon Point returned to France in the late 1990s. But in the meantime, the law against the invasion of public space by the street art has hardened and many of his peers are on trial. Not him.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

A wise choice which has given even greater visibility to the artist's works. These colored stencils, rebellious and unconventional, are exhibited in French and European art galleries: Hommage à Guglielmo Achille Cavellini, Galerie Espace, Turin (1992); “Cirque Erotic”, Kunstkabinett, Cologne (1993); “Erotics of everyday life”, Galerie Sanguine, Paris (1994); Galerie Arnaud Brument, Grand Stade de France (1998) “hihihihihi”, Galerie Ligne 13, Paris (2012); “Self-made”, Galerie Moretti & Moretti, Paris (2014), etc.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

For its part, La CHOOSE Galerie is dedicated to promoting its work worldwide.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Epsylon Point, le précurseur de l’art urbain en France

Son nom ne vous est sans doute pas inconnu : Epsylon Point a marqué l’histoire de l’art urbain en France avec ses premiers pochoirs en couleur, œuvres dont il revendique la paternité. Comment ce peintre graffeur né au milieu du XXe siècle a-t-il découvert le street art ? Quelles sont ses œuvres les plus marquantes ? La CHOOSE Galerie dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris vous dit tout sur l’artiste.

Epsylon Point : l’histoire d’un homme passionné

Passionné d’art depuis son enfance, Epsylon Point a franchi le pas du street art à la fin des années 1970, alors même qu’il venait de sortir des Beaux-arts de Dijon. La passion du street art lui est apparue comme « un flash » selon ses dires, lors d’une performance réalisée vers la fin des années 1970.

« J’ai eu l’impulsion de recouvrir de peinture noire un écran sur lequel je projetais des images. J’ai pris une bombe de peinture et là, ça a été comme un flash ». À partir de ce moment, l’art urbain n’a plus jamais quitté l’artiste et commença à émerger les premières esquisses du pochoir en couleur. La technique qu’il a développée aux côtés de son amie La Signe est inédite et son écho à travers les années influencera bien de street artists au quatre coins du monde.

En 1985, alors que le nom d’Epsylon Point est encore inconnu du grand public, il participe au premier rassemblement du mouvement graffiti et d’art urbain organisé par les VLP en Seine-Saint-Denis dans la ville de Bondy. D’autres grandes figures du street art ont été aussi de la partie, pour ne citer que Jef Aérosol, Blek le rat, Speedy Graphito.

Expositions de ses œuvres

Après avoir déménagé à Turin, où il a formé de nombreux artistes aux techniques du pochoir en couleur, Epsylon Point revient en France vers la fin des années 1990. Mais entre-temps, la loi contre l’envahissement de l’espace public par le street art s’est durci et beaucoup parmi ses pairs sont en procès. Pas lui.

Un choix judicieux qui a redonné une visibilité encore plus grande aux œuvres de l’artiste. Ces pochoirs en couleur, rebelles et anticonformistes, sont exposés dans les galeries d’art françaises et européennes : Hommage à Guglielmo Achille Cavellini, Galerie Espace, Turin (1992) ; « Cirque Erotic », Kunstkabinett, Cologne (1993) ; « Érotiques de la vie quotidienne », Galerie Sanguine, Paris (1994) ; Galerie Arnaud Brument, Grand Stade de France (1998) « hihihihihi », Galerie Ligne 13, Paris (2012) ; « Self-made », Galerie Moretti & Moretti, Paris (2014), etc.

Pour sa part, La CHOOSE Galerie consacre un travail de promotion mondiale de son œuvre.