Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

La CHOOSE Galerie, an ephemeral exhibition space dedicated to the graffiti movement in Paris

The CHOOSE Galerie , an ephemeral exhibition space dedicated to the graffiti movement, in the 8th arrondissement of Paris , was created under the impetus of two enthusiasts: Laurent COQUANT with his 30 years of experience in the sale of works of art. art and gallery management, and Henri TRUMER lawyer and great connoisseur. The two friends decide in 2019 to combine their expertise and their love of art to promote the work of Epsylon Point, a pioneer of French urban art and street artist who has become a true legend in France.

Why ephemeral?

Historically, works of art are pieces that span years, even centuries. But today, we are at a turning point, with a movement that is gaining in intensity and popularity: ephemeral art. With this artistic style, no material object such as a painting, a drawing, a sculpture ... will be produced in order to resist the passage of time, exhibited in a place where enlightened amateurs or neophytes will come to see it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Here, it is more of an event of very short duration to be savored, a unique and precious moment which leaves to those who attended only the memory of the exceptional experience they had. In some cases, an item is crafted from a material that decays rapidly, or is expressly destroyed after it has been produced and shown.

Still very young since it only emerged at the beginning of the previous century, ephemeral art is currently categorized as a form of artistic expression rather than as a current as such. This does not prevent it from making a growing number of followers, true creators or by a public of insiders attracted by its contemplation.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

When we talk about ephemeral art, urban art, also called street art, is the representation par excellence. Despite still many detractors, mentalities are evolving and exhibitions dedicated to the graffiti movement are multiplying in Paris and in the big cities. Many actors and patrons, including La CHOOSE Galerie , have largely supported the development of the phenomenon and of artists.

Provide a space for expression at Epsylon Point

In the world of urban art in France, there are essential figures, who stand out as much for their talent and their offbeat positions as for their contribution to the development of the discipline. This is the case of Epsylon Point, one of the precursors of street art and pioneer of color stencils. From the 80s, he refined his technique and even taught it to other artists, in the heart of Paris or in Turin, where he spent nearly a decade.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

After more than 40 years of expressing its art in the street, Epsylon Point is finally launching on canvas, but without losing its trademark. His colorful creations dealing with societal subjects, great human tragedies, convey politically incorrect slogans ... Both for the beauty and originality of his works, impossible to classify, as for the character himself, Epsylon Point n ' has not finished talking about him.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

La CHOOSE Galerie, un espace d’exposition éphémère dédié au mouvement graffiti à Paris

La CHOOSE Galerie, espace d’exposition éphémère dédié au mouvement graffiti, dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, a vu le jour sous l’impulsion de deux passionnés : Laurent COQUANT avec ses 30 ans d’expérience dans la vente d’œuvres d’art et la gestion de galerie, et Henri TRUMER avocat et grand connaisseur. Les deux amis décident en 2019 d’associer leur expertise et leur amour de l’art pour promouvoir l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, pionnier de l’art urbain français et street artiste devenu une véritable légende dans l’Hexagone.

Pourquoi éphémère ?

Historiquement, les œuvres d’art sont des pièces qui traversent les années, voire les siècles. Mais aujourd’hui, on est à un tournant, avec un mouvement qui gagne en intensité et en popularité : l’art éphémère. Avec ce style artistique, aucun objet matériel comme un tableau, un dessin, une sculpture… ne sera produit dans le but de résister au passage du temps, exposé dans un lieu où les amateurs éclairés ou néophytes viendront le voir.

Ici, il s’agit davantage d’un événement de très courte durée à savourer, un moment unique et précieux qui ne laisse à ce qui y ont assisté que le souvenir de l’expérience exceptionnelle qu’ils ont vécue. Dans certains cas, un objet est conçu dans un matériau à la dégradation rapide, ou qui est expressément détruit après avoir été produit et montrés.  

Encore très jeune puisqu’il n’a émergé qu’au début du siècle précédent, l’art éphémère est pour l’heure catégorie comme une forme d’expression artistique plutôt que comme un courant en tant que tel. Ce qui ne l’empêche pas de faire un nombre croissant d’adeptes, véritables créateurs ou par un public d’initiés attiré par sa contemplation.

Lorsque l’on parle d’art éphémère, l’art urbain, également appelé street art, en est la représentation par excellence. Malgré des détracteurs encore nombreux, les mentalités évoluent et les expositions dédiées au mouvement graffiti se multiplient à Paris et dans les grandes métropoles. De nombreux acteurs et mécènes, dont La CHOOSE Galerie, ont largement soutenu l’essor du phénomène et des artistes.

Offrir un espace d’expression à Epsylon Point

Dans le monde de l’art urbain en France, il existe des figures incontournables, qui se distinguent autant pour leur talent et leurs positions décalées que pour leur contribution au développement de la discipline. C’est le cas d’Epsylon Point, un des précurseurs du street art et pionnier du pochoir en couleur. Dès les années 80, il peaufine sa technique et l’enseigne même à d’autres artistes, au cœur de Paris ou à Turin, où il passe près d’une décennie.

Après plus de 40 ans à exprimer son art dans la rue, Epsylon Point se lance enfin sur toile, mais sans se départir de sa marque de fabrique. Ses créations hautes en couleurs traitement de sujets sociétaux, de grandes tragédies humaines, véhiculent des slogans politiquement incorrects… Aussi bien pour la beauté et l’originalité de ses œuvres, impossibles à classer, que pour le personnage lui-même, Epsylon Point n’a pas fini de faire parler de lui.