Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Group and personal exhibitions Epsylon Point

Through its pioneering works, Epsylon Point has influenced many street artists in France and abroad. Epsylon Point is the pioneer of color stencils, a technique for reproducing patterns and designs that allows two distinct effects to be obtained. Discover in this article how the artist has won the recognition of his peers through his works and his numerous group and personal exhibitions.

Epsylon Point and color stencil

When the public discovers street art, graffiti and tags were used to express an opinion, to denounce a system or to mark a sense of belonging. The interest of budding painters in this movement gave it an artistic character and some emblematic figures, such as Epsylon Point .

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Epsylon Point discovered a passion for street art at the time when it was starting to emerge in France, that is to say towards the end of the 1970s. The artist was then graduating from the school of Beaux-arts de Dijon and was looking for an activity that would allow him to fully express his art. After starting out as a photographer, he quickly turned to painting and almost by accident discovered the colored stencil while covering a screen with black paint on which he projected images.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

From there, Epsylon Point continued to develop his technique until teaching it to stencil artists in Turin, Italy. After gaining a certain notoriety, the artist has never ceased to express himself, through his works, on topical subjects, politics, war.

First street art gathering in Bondy

In 1985 took place the first graffiti and urban art gathering organized by the VLP in Seine-Saint-Denis in the city of Bondy. Epsylon Point was there, as were other emblematic figures of this “ephemeral art”: Blek the rat, Jef Aérosol, Speedy Graphito, SP38, Miss Tic…

Towards the end of the 1990s, Epsylon Point moved to Hauts-de-Seine. The future could only smile on the artist: exhibitions followed one after another and his works ended up winning their letter of nobility in the painter's many personal and group exhibitions in France and abroad.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Among his most notable personal exhibitions: the stencil “Totalmente a mano”, Chat Noir, Paris (2011); “Oh my Gode”, Galerie Hubert Konrad, Paris (2012); “Self-made” at the Galerie Moretti & Moretti, Paris (2014), “Père et fils”, Paris (2015). From his group exhibitions, we can remember: “Street Art where Art is on the street”, François Villon Cultural Center, Paris (2014); Collective exhibition artists of 92 (2002), Requiem for a Street, Galerie Saint-Laurent, Marseille (2013) and many others.

For its part, La CHOOSE Galerie is devoting an unprecedented exhibition of its timeless stencils to him, from his first works such as “Errar es humano” in 1987, to his latest creations with the evocative title: “Je suis Charlie”, “Le Charron”, or again "The decrepitude of the soul".

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Expositions collectives et personnelles Epsylon Point 

De par ses œuvres précurseurs, Epsylon Point a influencé nombre de street artists en France et à l’étranger. Epsylon Point est le pionnier du pochoir en couleur, technique de reproduction des motifs et dessins permettant d’obtenir deux effets distincts. Découvrez dans cet article comment l’artiste a gagné la reconnaissance de ses pairs à travers ses œuvres et ses nombreuses expositions collectives et personnelles.

Epsylon Point et le pochoir en couleur

Lorsque le public découvre le street art, les graffitis et tags servaient à exprimer une opinion, à dénoncer un système ou encore à marquer une appartenance. L’intérêt d’artistes peintres, en herbe, pour ce mouvement lui a donné un caractère artistique et certaines figures emblématiques, comme Epsylon Point.

Epsylon Point s’est découvert une passion pour le street art à l’époque où celui-ci commençait à émerger en France, c’est-à-dire vers la fin des années 1970. L’artiste sortait alors de l’école des Beaux-arts de Dijon et se cherchait une activité lui permettant d’exprimer pleinement son art. Après avoir débuté comme photographe, il s’est rapidement tourné vers la peinture et presque par hasard, découvrit le pochoir en couleur en recouvrant de peinture noire un écran sur lequel il projetait des images.

À partir de là, Epsylon Point n’a pas cessé de développer sa technique jusqu’à l’enseigner à des artistes pochoiristes à Turin, en Italie. Après avoir gagné une certaine notoriété, l’artiste n’a eu de cesse de s’exprimer, à travers ses œuvres, sur des sujets d’actualité, la politique, la guerre.

Premier rassemblement du street art à Bondy

En 1985 avait eu lieu le premier rassemblement graffiti et d’art urbain organisé par les VLP en Seine-Saint-Denis dans la ville de Bondy. Epsylon Point était de la partie, tout comme d’autres figures emblématiques de cet « art éphémère » : Blek le rat, Jef Aérosol, Speedy Graphito, SP38, Miss Tic…

Vers la fin des années 1990, Epsylon Point s’installe dans les Hauts-de-Seine. L’avenir ne pouvait que sourire à l’artiste : les expositions se sont enchainées et ses œuvres ont fini par gagner leur lettre de noblesse dans les nombreuses expositions personnelles et collectives du peintre en France comme à l’étranger. 

Parmi ses expositions personnelles les plus marquantes : le pochoir « Totalmente a mano », Chat Noir, Paris (2011) ; « Oh my Gode », Galerie Hubert Konrad, Paris (2012) ; « Self-made » à la Galerie Moretti & Moretti, Paris (2014), « Père et fils », Paris (2015). De ses expositions collectives, on peut retenir : « Street Art ou l’Art se rue dans la rue », Centre culturel François Villon, Paris (2014) ; Exposition collective artistes du 92 (2002), Requiem for a Street, Galerie Saint-Laurent, Marseille (2013) et tant d’autres.

Pour sa part, La CHOOSE Galerie lui consacre une exposition inédite de ses pochoirs intemporels, depuis ses premières œuvres comme « Errar es humano » en 1987, à ses dernières réalisations au titre évocateur : « Je suis Charlie », « Le Charron », ou encore « La décrépitude de l’âme ».

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales