Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Contemporary art gallery in Paris dedicated to street art, to the defense and promotion of the work of Epsylon Point.

Street art, this “ephemeral art” which has forever marked urban landscapes, is in the spotlight at the contemporary art gallery La CHOOSE Galerie , in the 8th arrondissement of Paris . The works of Epsylon Point, a pioneer of the color stencil technique, have been exhibited there since the beginning of the year.

Contemporary art and street art

Contemporary art brings together multiple artistic forms whether in the form of style or aesthetic practice. Generally speaking, contemporary art refers to artistic works produced since 1945, although this notion of contemporaneity remains widely debated.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

For certain artistic movements, contemporary art should therefore not only be taken chronologically or exclusively. This assumes that it ignores the boundaries between artistic fields and brings together other forms of art such as cinema, literature or theater.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Street art, on the other hand, gives pride of place to the free expression of artists without differentiating practices. This artistic movement brings together artistic productions in various forms (graffiti, stencil, work, installation, etc.) and draws its origins from graphic disciplines as varied as comics and posters. Street art as contemporary art ? The acceptance seems to be unanimous. But then the question arises of the aesthetic criterion, of the culture of beauty? Are a painting, a stencil on a building facade always art?

Urban art exhibitions

The “institutionalized” universe of art has settled the debate: yes, the embellishment of urban environments is unequivocal in art. Because in the same way as the stained glass windows were used as well to tell scenes from the Bible as to magnify the building, the productions of urban artists challenge by the meaning and the beauty of their expression.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The neighborhoods of European cities are full of examples that underpin this assertion. Now supported by art galleries, celebrated at auctions until its entry into museums, street art has gained its finest letters of nobility. In the 8th arrondissement of Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie is devoting a solo show exhibition dedicated to the works of Epsylon Point, one of the pioneers of urban art in France. The artist presents some of his timeless colored stencils, such as “Errar es humano” (1987), but also his recent and latest works: “Sur le Départ”, “La decépitude de cœur”, “En famille” ; "Louis Armstrong" ...

A few words about Epsylon Point

French painter born in 1950, Epsylon Point is the first to have produced color stencils in France in 1983. Alongside other renowned stencils such as Blek le rat and Marie Rouffet, Epsylon Point will give a larger dimension to the French urban art, that of a free and deeply expressive artistic movement.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Many exhibitions, personal or collective, have been devoted to the works of Epsylon Point. Among the most striking are: Erotics of everyday life ”, Galerie Sanguine, Paris (1994); Büchergilde, Gutenberg Art Club, Frankfurt (1999); “Oh my Gode”, Galerie Hubert Konrad, Paris (2012); “Hihihihihi”, Galerie Ligne 13, Paris (2012); “Urban legend”, Rome (2014). Galerie Brugier-Rigail (2018), La CHOOSE Galerie in solo show since January 2020.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Galerie d’art contemporain à Paris dédié au street art, à la défense et à la promotion de l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point.

Le street art, cet « art éphémère » qui a marqué à jamais les paysages urbains, est mis à l’honneur à la galerie art contemporain La CHOOSE Galerie, dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris. Les œuvres d’Epsylon Point, pionnier de la technique du pochoir en couleur, y sont exposées depuis le début de l’année.

L’art contemporain et le street art

L’art contemporain regroupe de multiples formes artistiques que ce soit en forme de style ou de pratique esthétique. D’une manière générale, l’art contemporain désigne les œuvres artistiques produites depuis 1945 quoique cette notion de contemporanéité reste largement discutée.

Pour certains courants artistiques, l’art contemporain ne doit donc pas uniquement être pris de façon chronologique ni exclusive. Cela suppose qu’il fait fi des frontières entre les domaines artistiques et regroupe en son sein d’autres formes d’art comme le cinéma, la littérature ou le théâtre.

Le street art, lui, fait la part belle à la libre expression des artistes sans différenciation des pratiques. Ce mouvement artistique rassemble les productions artistiques sous diverses formes (graffiti, pochoir, taf, installation, etc.) et puise ses origines dans des disciplines graphiques aussi variées que la bande dessinée ou l’affiche. Le street art en tant qu’art contemporain ? L’acceptation semble faire l’unanimité. Mais se pose alors la question du critère esthétique, de la culture du beau ? Une peinture, un pochoir sur une façade d’immeuble sont-ils systématiquement de l’art ?

Expositions d’art urbain

L’univers « institutionnalisé » de l’art a tranché le débat : oui, l’enjolivement des environnements urbains est sans équivoque de l’art. Car au même titre que les vitraux servaient aussi bien à raconter des scènes de la Bible qu’à magnifier l’édifice, les productions des artistes urbains interpellent de par le sens et la beauté de leur expression. 

Les quartiers des villes européennes regorgent d’exemples qui sous-tendent cette assertion. Désormais appuyé par les galeries d’art, célébré lors de ventes aux enchères jusqu’à son entrée dans les musées, le street art a gagné ses plus belles lettres de noblesse. Dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie consacre une exposition en solo show dédiée aux œuvres d’Epsylon Point, l’un des pionniers de l’art urbain en France. L’artiste y présente certains de ses pochoirs en couleur intemporels, comme « Errar es humano » (1987), mais aussi ses récentes et dernières réalisations : « Sur le départ », « La décrépitude de l’âme », « En famille » ; « Louis Armstrong »…

Quelques mots sur Epsylon Point

Artiste peintre français né en 1950, Epsylon Point est le premier à avoir produit des pochoirs en couleur en France en 1983. Aux côtés d’autres pochoiristes renommés comme Blek le rat et Marie Rouffet, Epsylon Point va redonner une dimension plus grande à l’art urbain français, celle d’un mouvement artistique libre et profondément expressif.

De nombreuses expositions, personnelles ou collectives, ont été consacrées aux œuvres d’Epsylon Point. Parmi les plus marquantes, on retiendra : Érotiques de la vie quotidienne », Galerie Sanguine, Paris (1994) ; Büchergilde, Gutenberg Art Club, Francfort (1999) ; « Oh my Gode », Galerie Hubert Konrad, Paris (2012) ; « hihihihihi », Galerie Ligne 13, Paris (2012) ; « Urban legend », Rome (2014). Galerie Brugier-Rigail (2018), La CHOOSE Galerie en solo show depuis janvier 2020.

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales