Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

A gallery dedicated to street art in Paris (France), at the work of Epsylon Point.

The CHOOSE Galerie welcomes you to the 8th arrondissement of Paris , a space dedicated to promoting the street art scene in France. Since our opening in January 2020, we have dedicated our action to the defense of the works of Epsylon Point, one of the pioneers of urban art in France.

Focus on street art in France

Even if the graffiti that covers the walls, monuments and street furniture still have detractors who equate them with acts of vandalism, more and more French people see them as a new form of expression. Enthusiasts even tend to classify them as an artistic discipline in its own right.

Forced to work in the shadows for many years, artists of the street art movement today dare to reveal their identity and show themselves. Their works now find their place in the exhibition halls of major art galleries in Paris and museums in France .

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The phenomenon, which has become a global fashion, started in the United States as in France in the 1960s. The social movements of May 1968 offered it the ideal stage to develop fully. The protesting students use it to highlight their political slogans. However, it was not until the 1980s to witness the real flourishing of urban art, when the law hardened.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Paradoxically, the little taste of the forbidden due to going underground encourages its development. During the 1980s and 1990s, they refined their techniques and tried others. Among the innovations that are spreading among street art enthusiasts, stencils and bombs are quickly gaining popularity. With new colors and original effects, everyone is able to give free rein to their creativity and display their work in broad daylight.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

From the beginning of the 2000s, street art was “formalized” in France. This is the period when the association Le MUR was born, for “Modulable, Urbain et Réactif”. The 80 artists who are members of this collective take turns exhibiting their work on large billboards installed in rue Oberkampf, in the heart of Paris, including Epsylon Point.

In 2009, an unprecedented event was organized at the Grand Palais for more than a month: the exhibition of 150 taggers from around the world. This initiative establishes the discipline, which is gradually gaining recognition from professionals and the public. The Cartier Foundation followed the example a few months later with another exhibition called “Born in the Street” intended to give more visibility to urban art.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Following them, retrospectives dedicated to street art follow one another, and the young rising painters are more and more numerous, influenced by Bansky and Epsylon Point instead of Picasso or Matisse.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Indeed, in the world of French street art, Epsylon Point stands out as a reference. This extraordinary artist, who does not fit into any category, is the master of color stencils, which he was the first to use in 1983. From walls to canvases, the success of his offbeat creations on social subjects does not exist. is never denied.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Une galerie dédiée au street art à Paris (France), à l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point.

La CHOOSE Galerie vous accueille dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, un espace dédié à la promotion de la scène street art en France. Depuis notre ouverture en janvier 2020, nous avons dédié notre action à la défense des œuvres d’Epsylon Point, un des pionniers de l’art urbain en France.

Zoom sur le street art en France

Même si les graffitis qui couvrent les murs, les monuments et le mobilier urbain ont encore des détracteurs qui les assimilent à des actes de vandalisme, de plus en plus de Français les considèrent comme une nouvelle forme d’expression. Les passionnés tendent même à les classer comme une discipline artistique à part entière.

Contraints de travailler dans l’ombre pendant de longues années, les artistes du mouvement street art osent aujourd’hui révéler leur identité et se montrer. Leurs œuvres trouvent désormais leur place dans les salles d’exposition des grandes galeries d’art à Paris et les musées en France.

Le phénomène, devenu une mode planétaire, est parti des États-Unis comme la France dans les années 1960. Les mouvements sociaux de mai 1968 lui offrent la scène idéale pour se développer pleinement. Les étudiants contestataires s’en servent pour mettre en exergue leurs slogans politiques. Il faudra néanmoins attendre les années 1980 pour assister au véritable épanouissement de l’art urbain, alors que la loi s’est durcie.

Paradoxalement, le petit goût d’interdit dû à la clandestinité encourage son essor. Durant les années 1980 et 1990, ils affinent leurs techniques et en essaient d’autres. Parmi les innovations qui se répandent parmi les passionnés du street art, les pochoirs et bombes gagnent rapidement en popularité. Avec de nouvelles couleurs et des effets inédits, chacun est en mesure de laisser libre cours à sa créativité et à afficher son œuvre au grand jour.

À partir du début des années 2000, l’art de rue se « formalise » en France. C’est la période où naît l’association Le M.U.R., pour « Modulable, Urbain et Réactif ». Les 80 artistes membres de ce collectif exposent leur travail à tour de rôle sur les grands panneaux publicitaires installés dans la rue Oberkampf, au cœur de Paris, dont Epsylon Point.

En 2009, un événement jamais vu est organisé au Grand Palais pendant plus d’un mois : l’exposition de 150 tagueurs du monde entier. Cette initiative consacre la discipline, qui obtient progressivement la reconnaissance des professionnels et du public. La fondation Cartier suit l’exemple quelques mois plus tard avec une autre exposition baptisée « Né dans la rue » destinée à donner davantage de visibilité à l’art urbain.

À leur suite, des rétrospectives dédiées au street art se succèdent, et les jeunes peintres montants sont de plus en plus nombreux, influencés par Bansky et Epsylon Point au lieu de Picasso ou Matisse.

En effet, dans l’univers de l’art de rue français, Epsylon Point s’impose comme une référence. Cet artiste hors normes, qui ne rentre dans aucune catégorie, est le maître du pochoir en couleur, qu’il a été le premier à utiliser dès 1983. Des murs aux toiles, le succès de ses créations décalées sur des sujets de société ne s’est jamais démenti.

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales