Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Discover the most influential French graffiti artists

The French urban art community brings together multiple talents from different generations. Graffiti artist, stencil artist, mosaicist: French street artists continue to amaze with their works. But who among them are the most influential? What are their most significant works?

French graffiti artists and stencils

Born in the United States in the 1960s, graffiti arrived in France around the same time as street art, carried by pioneering artists like Gérard Zlotykamien and Ernest Pignon-Ernest. At the time, urban art was mainly used to denounce systems or to take a critical look at a topical subject. With the events of May 1968, street art took on an increased political dimension, a characteristic that we find until today in certain graffiti and wall stencils.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Speaking of stencils, France saw the birth of the first productions of colored stencils, around 1982/1983, after a painter still unknown at the time, Epsylon Point, discovered this technique almost by chance. The stencil makes it possible to obtain two distinct effects on the same support while playing with colors. “I had the impulse to cover a screen on which I was projecting images with black paint. It was like a flash, ”confided the artist.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

But in this area, Epsylon Point is not the only one to have perfected its technique. Other stencils, like Jef Aérosol, Miss Tic or even Invader, have been invaluable sources of inspiration for many street artists.

Major artistic productions

Some of the productions of French street art have passed into posterity even if in terms of art, it is always difficult to establish an aesthetic and generational hierarchy. How indeed to compare "Les Gisants" (1971) by Ernest Pignon-Ernest to "La Chute" (2012) by Levalet, "The Warrior" by Blek le Rat to "Morphologie" by L'Atlas?

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

However, it is not wrong to say that some of these French graffiti artists , by their techniques and their inspiration, have revolutionized street art. This is the case with Jef Aérosol with his numerous performances in France and abroad: “Chuuuttt” in Paris, “Sitting kid” on the Great Wall of China, “North eastern” in Boston. And how not to talk about Invader and his little mosaic aliens, Miss Tic and her puns, epigrams and prose, or even Jérôme Mesnager and his famous "Man in White".

In the 8th arrondissement of Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie devotes its space to the works of Epsylon Point through the years. Anartist at heart, figure of the politically incorrect, Epsylon Point takes a critical look at the human condition, denounces violence and conflict, and speaks out on contemporary societal issues.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Through his works, we invite you on a journey through time where joy, sadness and melancholy mingle: “Errar es humano” 1987, “Birth” 1999, “The station” 2008 or even “The decrepitude of the soul” 2020.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Découvrez les graffeurs français les plus influents

La communauté de l’art urbain français regroupe de multiples talents issus de différentes générations. Graffeur, pochoiriste, mosaïste : les street artists français continuent d’émerveiller par leurs œuvres. Mais qui parmi eux sont les plus influents ? Quelles sont leurs œuvres les plus marquantes ?

Graffeurs et pochoiristes français

Né aux États-Unis dans les années 1960, le graffiti est arrivé en France à peu près à la même période que le street art, porté par des artistes précurseurs comme Gérard Zlotykamien et Ernest Pignon-Ernest. À l’époque, l’art urbain servait principalement à dénoncer les systèmes ou à porter un regard critique sur un sujet d’actualité. Avec les évènements de Mai 1968, le street art a revêtu une dimension politique accrue, caractéristique que l’on retrouve jusqu’à aujourd’hui dans certains graffitis et pochoirs muraux.

À propos de pochoir, la France a vu naitre les premières productions de pochoirs en couleur, vers 1982/1983, après qu’un artiste peintre encore méconnu à l’époque, Epsylon Point, ait découvert presque par hasard cette technique. Le pochoir permet d’obtenir deux effets distincts sur un même support tout en jouant avec les couleurs. « J’ai eu l’impulsion de recouvrir de peinture noire un écran sur lequel je projetais des images. Ça a été comme un flash », a confié l’artiste.

Mais en la matière, Epsylon Point n’est pas le seul à avoir perfectionné sa technique. D’autres pochoiristes, à l’instar de Jef Aérosol, Miss Tic ou encore Invader, ont été des sources d’inspiration précieuses pour nombre de street artists.

Les productions artistiques majeures

Quelques-unes des productions du street art français sont passées dans la postérité même si en matière d’art, il est toujours délicat d’établir une hiérarchie esthétique et générationnelle. Comment en effet comparer « Les Gisants » (1971) d’Ernest Pignon-Ernest à « La Chute » (2012) de Levalet, « The Warrior » de Blek le Rat à « Morphologie » de L’Atlas ?

Cependant, il n’est pas faux de dire que certains de ces graffeurs français, de par leurs techniques et leur inspiration, ont révolutionné le street art. Il en est ainsi de Jef Aérosol avec ses nombreuses performances en France et à l’étranger : « Chuuuttt » à Paris, « Sitting kid » sur la Grande Muraille de Chine, « North eastern » à Boston. Et comment ne pas parler d’Invader et de ses petits extra terrestres en mosaïque, de Miss Tic et ses jeux de mots, épigrammes et proses, ou encore de Jérôme Mesnager et son fameux « Homme en blanc ».

Dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie consacre son espace aux œuvres d’Epsylon Point à travers les années. Anartiste dans l’âme, figure du politiquement incorrect, Epsylon Point jette un regard critique sur la condition humaine, dénonce la violence et les conflits, et s’exprime sur les questions sociétales contemporaines.

À travers ses œuvres, nous vous invitons à un voyage dans le temps où se mêlent joie, tristesse et mélancolie : « Errar es humano » 1987, « Naissance » 1999, « La gare » 2008 ou encore « La décrépitude de l’âme » 2020.