Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

A gallery dedicated to street art and urban works

The CHOOSE Galerie, a space dedicated to the promotion of street art and urban works of Epsylon Point , was created thanks to the “passion for art” shared by Laurent COQUANT, gallery owner-dealer for more than 30 years, and Henri TRUMER, lawyer and amateur enlightened by art and its history. They thus decided to combine their passions and their experiences to promote this particular artistic genre.

Why support street art?

Street art actors have typically been defined by the people they seek to reach through their urban works . With more conceptual creations, which leave a lot of room for humor and irony, the artists in this field are aimed at everyone. In order to more easily convey their messages and reach a large number of people from all walks of life, they multiply the styles, effects and types of media.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

This is how big names in the discipline such as Blek le Rat, who started in the 1980s, adopted the stencil technique in order to speed up their creative process. Others, like JR, have favored paper posters, knowing that they will eventually disappear. Shepard Fairey, for his part, chose the stickers to publicize his work, and distributed his André the Giant to skateboard communities.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Thanks to their growing fame, the creations of these artists have made a place for themselves in the art world. It is in this context that well-known street graffiti artists came out and appeared on canvases now visible in major art galleries. This is the case of Jean-Michel Basquiat, who with Al Diaz, composed the SAMO duo, but also of Epsylon Point , pioneer of color stencils in France.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

It is in these conditions that the works are exhibited, a true living legend in the community and a source of inspiration for the younger generations of stencils and street artists.

Focus on Epsylon Point and its street art and urban masterpieces

After having cut his teeth in photography at the end of the Beaux-Arts in Dijon, he discovered spray painting during a performance. Painting freehand in the streets. Epsylon Point stood out for the stencil in 1983 and continued to perfect his technique, which he passed on to many artists, as far as Turin, where he lived in the 1990s.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

And if he is expressed today more on canvases rather than on walls, his signature is easily recognizable. On very colorful abstract backgrounds, he adds figurative stencils , displays political messages, images drawn from current themes, societal questions, music.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Une galerie dédiée aux œuvres street art et urbaine

La CHOOSE Galerie, un espace dédié à la promotion des œuvres street art et urbaine d’Epsylon Point, a vu le jour grâce à « la passion de l’art » que partagent Laurent COQUANT, galeriste-marchand depuis plus de 30 ans, et Henri TRUMER, avocat et amateur éclairé par l’art et son histoire. Ils ont ainsi décidé de mettre en accord leurs passions et leurs expériences pour promouvoir ce genre artistique particulier.

Pourquoi soutenir le street art ?

Les acteurs du street art ont été typiquement définis par les personnes qu’ils cherchent à atteindre à travers leurs œuvres urbaines. Avec des réalisations plus conceptuelles, qui laissent une grande place à l’humour et l’ironie, les artistes de ce domaine s’adressent à tout le monde. Afin de véhiculer plus facilement leurs messages et accéder à un grand nombre de personnes de tous horizons, ils multiplient les styles, les effets et les types de supports.

C’est ainsi que de grands noms de la discipline tels que Blek le Rat, qui s’est lancé dans les années 1980, ont adopté la technique du pochoir afin d’accélérer leur processus créatif. D’autres, à l’instar de JR, ont privilégié les affiches en papier, sachant qu’elles finiront par disparaître. Shepard Fairey a pour sa part choisi les autocollants pour faire connaître son travail, et a distribué pour cela ses André the Giant auprès des communautés de skateboard.

Grâce à leur renommée croissante, les créations de ces artistes se sont fait une place dans le monde de l’art. C’est dans ce contexte que des graffeurs de rue bien connus ont fait leur coming-out et sont passés sur des toiles désormais visibles dans les grandes galeries d’art. C’est le cas de Jean-Michel Basquiat, qui avec Al Diaz, composait le duo SAMO, mais aussi d’Epsylon Point, pionnier du pochoir en couleur dans l’Hexagone.

C’est dans ces conditions que les œuvres sont exposées, véritable légende vivante dans le milieu et source d’inspiration pour les jeunes générations de pochoiristes et de street artiste.

Focus sur Epsylon Point et ses chefs-d’œuvre street art et urbain

Après avoir fait ses armes dans la photographie à la sortie des Beaux-arts de Dijon, il découvre la peinture à la bombe à l’occasion d’une performance. Peignant à main levée dans les rues. Epsylon Point se distingue par le pochoir dès 1983 et ne cesse de perfectionner sa technique, qu’il transmet à de nombreux artistes, jusqu’à Turin, où il réside dans les années 1990.

Et s’il s’exprime aujourd’hui d’avantage sur les toiles plutôt que sur les murs, sa signature est facilement reconnaissable. Sur des fonds abstraits très colorés, il y ajoute des pochoirs figuratifs , affiche des messages politiques, des images tirées de thèmes d’actualité, de questions sociétales, de la musique.

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales