Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Street art: zoom on street painting

Urban art or street art is both a movement and a mode of artistic expression, which has succeeded in establishing itself and which has thus been asserted since the end of the 20th century. It brings together all forms of art performed in public space, and brings together various approaches, including graffiti, stencil, sticker, mosaic, display and collage, innovative approaches such as yarn bombing or knitting. -graffiti or older like street painting .

The origins of street painting, street art.

Street painting, also referred to as “street art”, “street art” and “sidewalk art” consists of the creation of artistic motifs on public roads, in particular on the roadway, sidewalks and public spaces. using different kinds of ephemeral media or not.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The origins of street, street art , modern painting can be traced back to Britain, and can be traced back to the end of the 19th century. Thus, in the British capital, several hundred artists, commonly called "screevers", made a living from this art full time.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The works of the screevers were generally embellished with poems and proverbs, moral lessons and especially political demands. They appealed to everyone, in particular those who could neither read nor write, who therefore only refer to visual images; but also the “educated” class who appreciated the moral lessons. In return, the latter distributed "pennies" to reward their efforts.

Street painting in trompe-l'oeil

Nowadays, there is room for street art in 3D or "trompe-l'oeil", which has become a real global phenomenon, in particular thanks to the web, which makes it possible to easily and quickly share the various works all over the world.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Breathtaking, these trompe-l'oeil street paintings give the impression of emerging from the ground. An optical illusion now mastered by many talented “street art” artists.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

But basically, they give access to a world of dreams and fantasy, thus opposing the dull and normalized aspect of our cities. Their goal is generally to transcend the reality in which we operate ...

La CHOOSE Galerie, a space dedicated to street art and the work of Epsylon Point.

Laurent COQUANT gallery owner and art dealer for over thirty years, and Henri TRUMER lawyer, but also art lover and especially art history lover, who decided to pool their experiences.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Street art : zoom sur la peinture de rue

L’art urbain ou street art est, à la fois, un mouvement et un mode d’expression artistique, qui a réussi à s’imposer et qui se revendique ainsi depuis la fin du 20e siècle. Il réunit toutes les formes d’art exécutées dans l’espace public, et regroupe diverses approches, entre autres le graffiti, le pochoir, le sticker, la mosaïque, l’affichage et le collage, des approches innovantes comme le yarn bombing ou tricot-graffiti ou plus anciennes comme la peinture de rue.

Les origines de la peinture de rue, street art.

La peinture de rue, également désignée sous les appellations «street art», « art de la rue » et « art des trottoirs » consistent en la réalisation de motifs artistiques sur la voie publique, notamment sur la chaussée, les trottoirs et les espaces publics en utilisant différentes sortes de supports éphémères ou pas.

Les origines de la peinture de rue, street art,  moderne peuvent être retracées en Grande-Bretagne, et remontent vers la fin du 19e siècle. Ainsi, dans la capitale britannique, plusieurs centaines d’artistes, communément appelés « screevers », vivaient de cet art à temps plein.

Les œuvres des screevers étaient généralement agrémentées de poèmes et proverbes, de leçons de morale et tout particulièrement de revendications politiques. Ils interpellaient ainsi tout le monde, en particulier ceux qui ne savaient ni lire ni écrire, qui se réfèrent donc uniquement aux images visuelles ; mais également la classe « éduquée » qui appréciaient les leçons de morale. En contrepartie, ces derniers distribuaient des « pennies » pour récompenser leurs efforts.

La peinture de rue en trompe-l’œil

De nos jours, place à l’art de rue en 3D ou en « trompe-l’œil », devenu un véritable phénomène planétaire notamment grâce au web qui permet de partager facilement et rapidement les différentes œuvres partout dans le monde.

Époustouflantes, ces peintures de rue en trompe-l’œil donnent l’impression de surgir du sol. Une illusion d’optique désormais maitrisée par de nombreux artistes « street art » pleins de talent.

Mais au fond, elles donnent accès un monde de rêve et de fantaisie, s’opposant ainsi à l’aspect morne et normalisé de nos villes. Leur but est généralement de transcender la réalité dans laquelle on évolue…

La CHOOSE Galerie, un espace dédié au street art et à l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point.

Laurent COQUANT galeriste et marchand d’art depuis plus d’une trentaine d’années, et Henri TRUMER avocat, mais aussi amateur d’art et surtout de l’histoire de l’art, qui ont décidé de mettre en commun leurs expériences.