Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Political and erotic street art painting

Politics, eroticism, conflicts: street art addresses different societal issues. Through his works, the graffiti artist transmits his gaze on the world and leads us to question our nature, to challenge ourselves on essential questions. Focus on the political and erotic paintings that have marked the history of urban art.

Political painting and street art

Like other art forms, street art is often used to convey a political or social message. A practice that is not specific to a community of street artists, but widespread across different countries. Activists, critics, protesters, street art paintings challenge public opinion on the threats weighing on democracy, class struggle or even the game of power.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Street artists, stencils and graffiti artists are masters in the art of producing paintings for political purposes . In France, precursors like Gérard Zlotykamien and Ernest Pignon-Ernest surfed on the events of May 1968 to express their ideas and denounce the system of the time. Another emblematic figure of French urban art, Epsylon Point, does not set limits when it comes to defending rights and shaking up the establishment. A follower of the politically incorrect, Epsylon Point does not fit into any register and readily assumes the provocative side of his works. The artist, who has been in the field of street art for 40 years, is still very active and has participated in several street art events, including the first gathering of the graffiti and urban art movement in 1985 in Bondy, France.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The young generation is also focused on protest and militant movements. Thus, the committed artist JR, in his Face2Face project, promoted dialogue and peace between Israelis and Palestinians by displaying their portraits on either side of the separation wall to show their resemblance. Obey, whose real name is Shepard Fairey, made a portrait of Barack Obama that has become world famous with his “Hope” poster.

Erotic paintings

For artists in general, and painters in particular, art constitutes a formidable forum for breaking free from taboos and conformism. Among their favorite themes: eroticism figures prominently.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Epsylon Point, again, stands out for its unique style, oscillating between revolution and eroticism . The artist reproduces in his works in a crude way the sexual fantasies and the erotic scenes which remain taboo in the collective conscience. He is also the only one.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The artist is endowed with an insatiable curiosity and his creativity continues to dazzle the pure universe of street art as well as institutionalized art. In the 8th arrondissement of Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie has dedicated an unprecedented exhibition of his works to him over the years. A journey through time where the visitor will have the opportunity to admire the timeless stencils of this extraordinary artist, some historical ones such as “Errar es humano” 1987, “Birth” 1999, but also his recent productions: “La gare” 2008 or even “The decrepitude of the soul” 2020.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

For more information :

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

political and erotic street art painting
french urban painting
pioneer and leader
pioneer stencil in color street art
pioneer street art and urban art
Precursor of urban art and street art
Who are the pioneers of street art and urban art in France?
Who was the first to use the color stencil?
political and current affairs slogans in art
engaged street art

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Peinture politique et érotique du street art

Politique, érotisme, conflits : le street art aborde différentes problématiques sociétales. À travers ses œuvres, l’artiste graffeur transmet son regard sur le monde et nous amène à nous interroger sur notre nature, à nous interpeller sur les questions essentielles. Focus sur les peintures politiques et érotiques qui ont marqué l’histoire de l’art urbain.

Peinture politique et street art

Comme d’autres formes d’art, le street art est souvent utilisé pour faire passer un message politique ou social. Une pratique qui n’est pas propre à une communauté de street artists, mais bien répandue à travers les différents pays. Militantes, critiques, contestataires, les peintures du street art interpellent l’opinion publique sur les menaces pesant sur la démocratie, la lutte des classes ou encore le jeu du pouvoir. 

Des street artists, pochoiristes et graffeurs sont passés maîtres dans l’art de produire des peintures à visée politique. En France, des précurseurs comme Gérard Zlotykamien et Ernest Pignon-Ernest ont surfé sur les évènements de Mai 1968 pour exprimer leurs idées, dénoncer le système de l’époque. Une autre figure emblématique de l’art urbain français, Epsylon Point, ne se donne pas de limite lorsqu’il s’agit de défendre des droits, de bousculer l’establishment. Adepte du politiquement incorrect, Epsylon Point ne s’inscrit dans aucun registre et assume volontiers le côté provocateur de ses œuvres.  L’artiste, qui est dans le milieu du street art depuis 40 ans, est encore très actif et a participé à plusieurs évènements du street art, dont le premier rassemblement du mouvement graffiti et d’art urbain en 1985 à Bondy en France.

La jeune génération est elle aussi portée sur les mouvements contestataires et militants. Ainsi, l’artiste engagé JR a, dans son projet Face2Face, promu le dialogue et la paix entre Israéliens et Palestiniens en affichant leurs portraits de part et d’autre du mur de séparation pour montrer leur ressemblance. Obey, de son vrai nom Shepard Fairey, a quant à lui réalisé un portrait devenu mondialement célèbre de Barack Obama avec son poster « Hope ».

Les peintures érotiques

Pour les artistes en général, et les artistes peintres en particulier, l’art constitue une formidable tribune pour s’affranchir des tabous et du conformisme. Parmi leurs thèmes de prédilection : l’érotisme figure en bonne place.

Epsylon Point, à nouveau, se démarque par son style unique, oscillant entre révolution et érotisme. L’artiste reproduit dans ses œuvres de façon crue les fantasmes sexuels et les scènes érotiques qui restent tabou dans la conscience collective. Il est par ailleurs le seul.

L’artiste est doté d’une insatiable curiosité et sa créativité continue d’éblouir aussi bien l’univers pur du street art que l’art institutionnalisé. Dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie lui a consacré une exposition inédite de ses œuvres à travers les années. Un voyage dans le temps où le visiteur aura l’occasion d’admirer les pochoirs intemporels de cet artiste hors du commun, certaines historiques comme « Errar es humano » 1987, « Naissance » 1999, mais aussi ses productions récentes : « La gare » 2008 ou encore « La décrépitude de l’âme » 2020.

Pour plus d'informations :

peinture politique et érotique street art
peinture urbaine francaise
pionnier et chef de fil
pionnier pochoir en couleur street art
pionnier street art et art urbain
Précurseur art urbain et street art
Quels sont les pionniers du street art et de l’art urbain en France ?
Qui est le premier à avoir utilisé le pochoir en couleur ?
slogans politiques et d’actualités dans l'art
street art engagé