Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

French paintings of urban art

Graffiti, stencil, installation, mosaic: street art has marked urban landscapes for many years. These street artists, known or budding, perceive the environment as being a vast and virgin canvas conducive to the expression of their inspiration, a suitable platform to take a critical look at society like a museum.

Urban artists attacking cities

The history of French urban art coincides with the events of May 1968, carried by pioneering artists such as Gérard Zlotykamien and Ernest Pignon-Ernest. This artistic form manifests itself mainly in the street, on the walls, on the facades of buildings through paintings , graffiti and other frescoes that are sometimes subversive, denouncing or quite simply artistic.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

From its origins until today, street art has always served one or more causes. In France, Epsylon Point is one of the first artists to have given a militant dimension to urban art. This pioneer of color stencils has always sought to arouse public reaction on social issues: social demands, class struggle, etc. Non-conformist, Epsylon Point also likes to provoke and does not hesitate to shake up taboos with his very explicit erotic paintings.

The young generation engaged

The street offers increased visibility to urban artists who want to be heard. Politics, conflicts, racism, ecology: a tag, a graffiti or a clearly visible painting has an incredible impact to alert the public. This strength of street art, young committed artists put it at the service of their causes. Thus, the street artist Combo has produced one of the most famous works dealing with religion: a sticker accompanied by a tag advocating tolerance between different faiths.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition, world famous figures of street art, like Banksy, have become masters in the art of provocation. The British artist, to whom we owe “The Balloon Girl”, a stencil made on London's Waterloo Bridge, is the author of the very controversial “One Nation Under CCTV”. Many are also committed artists who impose on passers-by their feelings and their ideals around international conflicts, denounce animal suffering, massive urbanization or deforestation.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Although street art belongs to the streets, this artistic movement is tending more and more to become institutionalized. Art galleries and museums frequently devote personal or collective street-art exhibitions. In the 8th arrondissement of Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie offers a journey through time to discover the outstanding works of Epsylon Point over the decades.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

During this exhibition, the artist presents some of his historical works such as “Errares humano” 1987, but also his latest unpublished works: “The Decrepitude of the Soul” (2020), “Russian Nobel Prize” (2019), “ Le Charron "," Je suis Charlie "," The walls have the floor "(2020)

About La CHOOSE Galerie

Born from a common passion for art, La CHOOSE Galerie was founded in 2020 by Laurent COQUANT, gallery owner / dealer for more than 30 years, and Henri TRUMER, lawyer and amateur enlightened by art and its history.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Peintures françaises de l’art urbain

Graffiti, pochoir, installation, mosaïque : le street art a marqué les paysages urbains depuis de nombreuses années. Ces street artists, connus ou en herbe, perçoivent l’environnement comme étant une vaste et vierge toile propice à l’expression de leur inspiration, une tribune idoine pour porter un regard critique sur la société à l’égale d’un musée.

Les artistes urbains à l’assaut des cités

L’histoire de l’art urbain français coïncide avec les évènements de Mai 1968, porté par des artistes précurseurs tels que Gérard Zlotykamien et Ernest Pignon-Ernest. Cette forme artistique se manifeste principalement dans la rue, sur les murs, sur la façade des immeubles au travers des peintures, graffitis et autres fresques parfois subversifs, dénonciateurs ou tout simplement artistiques.

Depuis ses origines jusqu’à aujourd’hui, le street-art a toujours servi une ou plusieurs causes. En France, Epsylon Point compte parmi les premiers artistes à avoir donné une dimension militante à l’art urbain. Ce pionnier du pochoir en couleur a toujours cherché à susciter la réaction du public sur les questions de société : les revendications sociales, la lutte des classes, etc. Anticonformiste, Epsylon Point aime aussi provoquer et n’hésite pas à bousculer les tabous avec ses peintures érotiques très explicites.

La jeune génération engagée

La rue offre une visibilité accrue aux artistes urbains qui veulent se faire entendre. Politique, conflits, racisme, écologie : un tag, un graffiti ou une peinture bien visible a un impact incroyable pour alerter l’opinion. Cette force de l’art street, de jeunes artistes engagés la mettent au service de leurs causes. Ainsi, le street artist Combo a réalisé l’une des plus célèbres œuvres traitant de la religion : un sticker accompagné d’un tag prônant la tolérance entre les différentes confessions. 

Par ailleurs, des figures mondialement connues du street art, à l’instar de Banksy, sont passées maitre dans l’art de la provocation. L’artiste britannique, à qui l’on doit « La fille au ballon », pochoir réalisé sur Waterloo Bridge de Londres, est l’auteur du très polémique « One Nation Under CCTV ». Nombreux sont également les artistes engagés qui imposent aux passants leurs ressentis et leurs idéaux autour des conflits internationaux, dénoncent la souffrance animale, l’urbanisation massive ou encore la déforestation.

Bien que le street art appartienne à la rue, ce mouvement artistique tend de plus en plus à s’institutionnaliser. Des galeries d’art et musées consacrent fréquemment des expositions personnelles ou collectives de street-art. Dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie propose un voyage dans le temps pour découvrir les œuvres marquantes d’Epsylon Point au fil des décennies.

Lors de cette exposition, l’artiste présente certaines de ses œuvres historiques comme « Errares humano » 1987, mais aussi ses dernières réalisations inédites : « La Décrépitude de l’âme » (2020), « Prix Nobel russe » (2019), « Le Charron », « Je suis Charlie », « Les murs ont la parole » (2020)

À propos de La CHOOSE Galerie

Née d’une passion commune de l’art, La CHOOSE Galerie a été fondée en 2020 par Laurent COQUANT, galeriste/marchand depuis plus de 30 ans, et Henri TRUMER, avocat et amateur éclairé par l’art et son histoire.

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales