Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

The colored stencil: who is the street artist who used it first?

They can be seen on certain walls and facades of public spaces: the colored stencils are the work of street artists, such as Jef Aérosol, Miss Tic or Epsylon Point. But who among these talented artists is the first to have used this technique?

The colored stencil in the world of street art

Graffiti was born in the American United States in the mid-1960s. In France where pioneering artists like Gérard Zlotykamien and Ernest Pignon-Ernest were the first to spray walls with paint respectively from 1963 for the first and 1966 for the second with its posters on a human scale. But urban art was still in its infancy and a few years later, with the development of new techniques, it would become an artistic movement with a global dimension.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Among the pictorial techniques that have revolutionized street art, the color stencil holds a special place. The color stencil consists in reproducing patterns, images, on a flat surface to then create contrasts according to different tones of colors. This technique makes it possible to cut out the light and thus obtain two different effects.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Epsylon Point developed this technique in the early 1980s. Along with her friend La Signe, the artist then perfected her art, skillfully playing with shades of color to produce portraits, slogans around the causes that l 'anime.

LA CHOOSE Galerie puts Epsylon Point in the spotlight

For more than 40 years, Epsylon Point has strongly contributed to promote artistic urban creation through its unique and original color stencils. LA CHOOSE Galerie in the 8th arrondissement of Paris has been devoting to him since the beginning of the year an unprecedented exhibition of his historical works, such as “Errar es humano” in 1987, but also his latest works: “Le Charron”, “Je suis Charlie” or “The decrepitude of the soul”.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Le pochoir en couleur : qui est le street artist à l’avoir utilisé en premier ?

On les aperçoit sur certains murs et façades de l’espace public : les pochoirs en couleur sont l’œuvre de street artists, tels que Jef Aérosol, Miss Tic ou encore Epsylon Point. Mais qui parmi ces artistes de talent est le premier à avoir utilisé cette technique ?

Le pochoir en couleur dans l’univers du street art

Le graffiti est né aux États-Unis américaines au milieu des années 1960. En France où des artistes précurseurs comme Gérard Zlotykamien et Ernest Pignon-Ernest ont été les premiers à taguer les murs à la bombe de peinture respectivement à partir de 1963 pour le premier et 1966 pour le second avec ses affiches à taille humaine. Mais l’art urbain n’en était qu’à ses balbutiements et quelques années plus tard, avec la mise au point des nouvelles techniques, il allait devenir un mouvement artistique à la dimension planétaire.

Parmi les techniques picturales qui ont révolutionné le street art, le pochoir en couleur tient une place à part. Le pochoir en couleur consiste à reproduire des motifs, des images, sur une surface plane pour y ensuite créer des contrastes selon différentes tonalités de couleurs. Cette technique permet de découper la lumière et d’obtenir ainsi deux effets différents.

Epsylon Point a mis au point cette technique au début des années 1980. Aux côtés de son amie La Signe, l’artiste va alors perfectionner son art, jouant habilement avec les nuances de couleur pour réaliser des portraits, des slogans autour des causes qui l’anime.

LA CHOOSE Galerie met à l’honneur Epsylon Point

Pendant plus de 40 ans, Epsylon Point a fortement contribué à promouvoir la création urbaine artistique à travers ses pochoirs en couleur uniques et originaux. LA CHOOSE Galerie dans le 8earrondissement de Paris lui consacre depuis le début de l’année une exposition inédite de ses œuvres historiques, comme « Errar es humano » en 1987, mais aussi ses dernières réalisations : « Le Charron », « Je suis Charlie » ou encore « La décrépitude de l’âme ».