Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

The works of the pioneer of French streert art at La CHOOSE Galerie

Engaged street art is a delicate area in which many artists of the genre have made their specialty. Decorative and above all a mode of expression, street art has been widely controversial for many decades, and in several countries. However, some galleries exhibit the work of artists recognized for their work and talent, such as La CHOOSE Galerie in Paris.

What do we mean by street art?

Street art, literally translated as street art, is also called urban art. Graffiti appeared in the United States in the 1970s in the form of tags and signatures of all kinds and graffiti, mainly used as a means of expression. Arrived more or less discreetly in Europe, it found its place there in the early 1980s. The walls of specific neighborhoods as well as subways and even train cars were used as supports.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Considered invasive and provocative, especially works of engaged street art , urban art has been banned from certain neighborhoods and cities. However, art galleries such as La CHOOSE Galerie in Paris have opened their doors to street artists.

When do we speak of engaged street art?

In its essence, street art is a committed art. Its precursors are generally people who use it to express their revolt or their vision of the situations and the environment that surrounds them. Some works are real frescoes telling stories or translating injustices, etc. Moreover, the provocative nature of certain graffiti and drawings has led to the prohibition of this means of expression in many places and this under the terms of the law of 29/07/1881.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Nevertheless, prohibition did not prevent street artists from remaining active. Epsylon Point is among those who have come back to the fore with numerous exhibitions in galleries that defend this category of art. He has been present at La CHOOSE Galerie in Paris since January 2020.

Committed street art artists remain appreciated

Committed street art artists are true spokespersons for society. Each in his own way, with his talent, remains faithful to the values ​​that are close to his heart. Note that the most recurring themes at Epsylon Point are politics, the human condition, fundamental rights (of men, women, children, animals, etc.), ecology. The works are particularly expressive and carry strong messages, hence the notoriety of their authors.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition, the artistic and aesthetic aspects of the achievements are also the essential element that has earned street art its popularity, and that of their creators. Epsylon Point, currently exhibited at La CHOOSE Galerie in Paris, stands out for its particularly colorful works.

La CHOOSE Galerie exhibits Epsylon Point, a committed street art artist

Created by two art enthusiasts, Laurent COQUANT gallery owner / dealer for over 30 years and Henri TRUMER lawyer and amateur enlightened by art and its history, La CHOOSE Galerie has chosen Epsylon Point, pioneer of color stencils and one of the pioneers of street art in France.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

They have thus devoted a space to this street art artist engaged in themes as diverse as dictatorship and the perverse misdeeds of capitalism in all its forms, sexuality or the human condition. His works are available for sale and offered for leasing at the gallery and on the latter's website.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Les œuvres du pionnier du streert art français chez La CHOOSE Galerie

Le street art engagé est un domaine délicat dans lequel de nombreux artistes du genre ont fait leur spécialité. Décoratif et surtout un mode d’expression, le street art est toutefois largement controversé depuis de nombreuses décennies, et dans plusieurs pays. Certaines galeries exposent toutefois les réalisations d’artistes reconnus pour leur œuvre et leur talent, comme La CHOOSE Galerie à Paris.

Qu’est-ce qu’on entend par street art ?

Le Street art, littéralement traduit par art de la rue, est également appelé art urbain. Le graffitis est apparu aux États-Unis dans les années 70 sous forme de tags et de signature en tout genre et de graffitis, surtout employés comme un moyen d’expression. Arrivé plus ou moins discrètement en Europe, il y a trouvé sa place au début des années 1980. Les murs de quartiers spécifiques ainsi que les métros et même les wagons des trains ont été utilisés comme supports.

Considéré comme envahissant et provocant, notamment les œuvres de street art engagé, l’art urbain a été banni de certains quartiers et de certaines villes. Des galeries d’art comme La CHOOSE Galerie à Paris ont toutefois ouvert leurs portes aux artistes de l’art de rue.

Quand parle-t-on de street art engagé ?

Dans son essence, le street art est un art engagé. Ses précurseurs sont généralement des personnes qui en usent pour exprimer leur révolte ou leur vision des situations et de l’environnement qui les entoure. Certaines œuvres sont de véritables fresques racontant des histoires ou traduisant des injustices, etc. D’ailleurs, le caractère provocant de certains graffitis et dessins a conduit à l’interdiction de ce moyen d’expression dans de nombreux endroits et ce dans les termes de la loi du 29/07/1881.

Néanmoins, la prohibition n’a pas empêché les artistes d’art urbain à rester actifs. Epsylon Point fait partie de ceux qui sont revenus sur le devant de la scène avec de nombreuses expositions dans des galeries qui défendent cette catégorie d’art. Il est présent à La CHOOSE Galerie à Paris depuis janvier 2020.

Les artistes de street art engagés restent appréciés

Les artistes de street art engagé sont de véritables porte-paroles de la société. Chacun à sa manière, avec son talent, reste fidèle aux valeurs qui lui tiennent à cœur. À noter que les thèmes les plus récurrents chez Epsylon Point sont la politique, la condition humaine, les droits fondamentaux (des hommes, des femmes, des enfants, des animaux, etc.), l’écologie. Les œuvres sont particulièrement expressives et porteuses de messages forts, d’où la notoriété de leurs auteurs.

Par ailleurs, les aspects artistiques et esthétiques des réalisations constituent également l’élément essentiel qui a valu au street art sa popularité, et celle de leurs créateurs. Epsylon Point, exposé actuellement à La CHOOSE Galerie à Paris, se démarque ainsi par ses œuvres particulièrement colorées.

La CHOOSE Galerie expose Epsylon Point, artiste street art engagé

Créé par deux passionnés de l’art, Laurent COQUANT galeriste/marchand depuis plus de 30 ans et Henri TRUMER avocat et amateur éclairé par l’art et son histoire, La CHOOSE Galerie a choisi Epsylon Point, pionnier du pochoir en couleur et l’un des pionniers du street art en France.  

Ils ont ainsi consacré un espace à cet artiste de street art engagé dans des thèmes aussi divers que la dictature et les méfaits pervers du capitalisme sous toutes ses formes, la sexualité ou encore la condition humaine. Ses œuvres sont disponibles à la vente et proposées en leasing à la galerie et sur le site de cette dernière.

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales