Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

French street artist Urban art

From Blek the rat to Monsieur Chat, including Invader and Miss Tic, French urban art is full of talents from different generations. Discover who are the street artists who have marked the history of French urban art and how this movement has earned its place in the institutionalized world of art.

Panorama of French artist streets

French street art emerged at the same time as the events of May 1968, carried by pioneering artists like Zlotykamien from 1963 Ernest Pignon-Ernest from 1966. At that time, the productions of urban art, aimed at essentially social and political, were limited to mural graffiti painted with spray paint. It was only from its 1980s and the development of a new technique, the stencil, that this movement really took off.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Stencil is a technique of printing patterns and images on almost any rigid surface. The type of stencil paint differs depending on the chosen medium (fabric, metal, wood, etc.) and the choice of the pattern allows endless possibilities. Young artists such as Bleck the rat, Jef Aérosol and Jérôme Mesnager distinguished themselves in the art of stenciling and some of their works, such as the legendary "Sitting Kid" by Jef Aérosol, have passed into posterity.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Urban artistic creations gained ground in the 1990s and the 2000s were manifested by the integration of urban art in France, starting with the creation of the MUR (“Modulable, Urbain et Réactif”), an association bringing together 80 artists including Epsylon Point.

Epsylon Point and color stencil

If there is one character who revolutionized French urban art, it is Epsylon Point, the pioneer of color stencils. Epsylon Point is a painter born in 1950, graduating from Beaux-Arts in Dijon and precursor of the first color stencils.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Passionate about painting, he first tried his hand at spray-can graffiti and photography by mixing color stencils, a technique he discovered during a performance made in the early 1980s. This jack-of-all-trades - Epsylon Point is also a musician and airplane mechanic - makes color stencils his trademark and, through his works, tackles various societal issues: social demands, world conflicts, the human condition, etc.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In 1985, he participated in the first gathering of the graffiti and urban art movement in Bondy under the leadership of the VLP, alongside other rising figures of urban art: Blek le rat, Jef Aérosol, Miss Tic, SP 38 , Speedy Graphito or even Nuklé-Art. During the 2000s, Epsylon Point was approached by art galleries and museums for personal and collective exhibitions of street art and contemporary art, including “Aux Arts Citoyens” Espace des Blanc Manteaux, Paris (2006); “Hihihihihi”, Galerie Ligne 13 Paris (2012); Urban legend ”, Rome (2014).

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

For its part, La CHOOSE Galerie , in the 8th arrondissement of Paris becomes the official gallery of Epsylon Point where historical and recent works are exhibited there.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Street artiste Urban art français

De Blek le rat à Monsieur Chat, en passant par Invader et Miss Tic, l’art urbain français regorge de talents issus de différentes générations. Découvrez qui sont les street artistes qui ont marqué l’histoire de l’art urbain français et comment ce mouvement a gagné sa place dans le monde institutionnalisé de l’art.

Panorama des streets artistes français

Le street art français a émergé en même temps que les évènements de Mai 1968, porté par des artistes précurseurs comme Zlotykamien à partir de 1963 Ernest Pignon-Ernest à partir de 1966. À cette époque, les productions de l’art urbain, à visée essentiellement sociale et politique, se limitaient à des graffitis murales réalisées à la bombe de peinture. Ce n’est qu’à partir de ses années 1980 et la mise au point d’une nouvelle technique, le pochoir, que ce mouvement prend véritablement son envol.

Le pochoir est une technique d’impression de motifs et d’images sur quasiment toutes les surfaces rigides. Le type de peinture de pochoir diffère en fonction du support choisi (tissu, métal, bois, etc.) et le choix du motif permet des possibilités infinies. De jeunes artistes comme Bleck le rat, Jef Aérosol et Jérôme Mesnager s’illustrent dans l’art du pochoir et certaines de leurs œuvres, comme le légendaire « Sitting Kid » de Jef Aérosol, sont passées dans la postérité.

Les créations artistiques urbaines gagnent du terrain dans les années 1990 et les années 2000 se manifestent par l’intégration de l’art urbain en France, à commencer par la création du M.U.R. (« Modulable, Urbain et Réactif »), une association regroupant 80 artistes dont Epsylon Point.

Epsylon Point et le pochoir en couleur

S’il est un personnage qui a révolutionné l’art urbain français, c’est bien Epsylon Point, le pionnier du pochoir en couleur. Epsylon Point est un artiste peintre né en 1950, sortant des Beaux-Arts de Dijon et précurseur des premiers pochoirs en couleur.

Passionné de peinture, il s’essaya d’abord au graffiti à la bombe aérosol et à la photographie en mêlant le pochoir en couleur, technique qu’il découvre pendant une performance réalisée au début des années 1980. Ce touche-à-tout – Epsylon Point est également musicien et mécanicien d’avion – fait du pochoir en couleur sa marque de fabrique et aborde, à travers ses œuvres, différentes problématiques sociétales : revendications sociales, conflits mondiaux, condition humaine, etc.

En 1985, il participe au premier rassemblement du mouvement graffiti et d’art urbain à Bondy sous l’impulsions des VLP, aux côtés d’autres figures montantes de l’art urbain : Blek le rat, Jef Aérosol, Miss Tic, SP 38, Speedy Graphito ou encore Nuklé-Art. Au cours des années 2000, Epsylon Point est sollicité par les galeries d’art et musées pour des expositions personnelles et collectives de street art et d’art contemporain, dont « Aux Arts Citoyens » Espace des Blanc Manteaux, Paris (2006) ; « hihihihihi », Galerie Ligne 13 Paris (2012) ; Urban legend », Rome (2014).

Pour sa part, La CHOOSE Galerie, dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris devient la galerie officielle d’Epsylon Point ou y sont exposées des œuvres historiques comme récentes.