Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

Color stencil board

The stencil in color is a street art technique allowing to reproduce patterns on a flat surface to then create contrasts according to different tones of colors. Used by Epsylon Point , the color stencil revolutionized urban art and gained a following among the younger generation of stencils.

Color stencil board: the genesis

The colored stencil is a major discovery of street art which emerged in the United States in the early 1980s. In France, this artistic movement was carried by pioneering artists like Gérard Zlotykamien and Ernest Pignon-Ernest. The advent of the color stencil would give a dimension.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The stencil is not a new pictographic creation nor an invention of the old continent. This printing technique already existed in prehistoric times and some civilizations, particularly in Japan, used this technique for coloring the fabrics of often richly decorated clothing. Many monuments and medieval buildings are also adorned with murals, the printing method of which is largely stenciled.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In street art, the first color stencils were made by Epsylon Point, one of the pioneers of French urban art. We are in the early 1980s and the French artist, then in his thirties, was graduating from Beaux-Arts in Dijon. After having tried his hand at photography, Epsylon Point discovered a passion for spray painting and “like a flash”, he came up with the idea of ​​projecting different colors onto a cutout placed on a flat support. The colored stencil was born.

The stencils storming the cities

The machine has never stopped for Epsylon Point, whose technique has become a benchmark in street art. The artist traveled a lot during these years to Turin and Paris.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Other renowned artists followed suit and helped further strengthen the popularity of street art. Among the best known, we can cite Blek the rat, Jef Aérosol, Jérôme Mesnager, Mosko, Miss Tic, Némo, Banksy Shepard Fairey. The stencils today bring together artists recognized by official channels and a much larger community of anonymous.

Epsylon Point in the spotlight at La CHOOSE Galerie

“Error es humano”, a stencil produced in 1987 and since passed on to posterity, “Culture” (1998), “Birth” (1999), “La gare” (2008) are some of Espylon Pont's timeless works. exhibited since the beginning of the year at La CHOOSE Galerie , in the 8th arrondissement of Paris. The artist also presents his latest works, mixing joy, sadness and melancholy. Discover his unpublished paintings from 2020 where he orchestrates the play of colors and contrasts to perfection: “Le Charron”; "The decrepitude of the soul"; " With family " ; "Louis Armstrong"; “Place in India” or even “Solidarity”.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Tableau pochoir en couleur

Le pochoir en couleur est une technique de street art permettant de reproduire des motifs sur une surface plane pour y ensuite créer des contrastes selon différentes tonalités de couleurs. Utilisé par Epsylon Point, le pochoir en couleur a révolutionné l’art urbain et fait de nombreux adeptes parmi la jeune génération de pochoiristes.

Tableau pochoir en couleur : la genèse

Le pochoir en couleur est une découverte majeure du street art lequel a émergé aux États-Unis au au debut des années 80. En France, ce mouvement artistique a été porté par des artistes précurseurs comme Gérard Zlotykamien et Ernest Pignon-Ernest. L’avènement du pochoir en couleur allait  donner une dimension.

Le pochoir n’est pas une création pictographique nouvelle ni une invention du vieux continent. Cette technique d’impression existait déjà du temps de la Préhistoire et certaines civilisations, notamment au Japon, avaient recours à cette technique pour la coloration des tissus de vêtements souvent richement décorés. De nombreux monuments et édifices médiévaux sont aussi ornés de peintures murales, dont le mode d’impression empreinte largement au pochoir. 

En street art, les premiers pochoirs en couleurs ont été réalisés par Epsylon Point, l’un des pionniers de l’art urbain français. Nous sommes au début des années 1980 et l’artiste français, alors trentenaire, sortait des Beaux-Arts de Dijon. Après s’être essayé à la photographie, Epsylon Point se découvre une passion pour la peinture à la bombe aérosol et « comme un flash », lui vient l’idée de projeter différentes couleurs sur une découpe disposée sur un support plat. Le pochoir en couleur est né.

Les pochoiristes à l’assaut des cités

La machine ne s’est plus arrêtée pour Epsylon Point dont la technique est devenue une référence du street art. L’artiste voyage beaucoup pendant ces années à Turin et à Paris.

D’autres artistes de renom lui ont emboité le pas et ont contribué à renforcer de plus belle la popularité du street art. Parmi les plus connus, on peut citer Blek le rat, Jef Aérosol, Jérôme Mesnager, Mosko, Miss Tic, Némo, Banksy Shepard Fairey. Les pochoiristes rassemblent aujourd’hui des artistes reconnus par les circuits officiels et une communauté bien plus large d’anonymes.

Epsylon Point à l’honneur chez La CHOOSE Galerie

« Error es humano », un pochoir réalisé en 1987 et passé depuis dans la postérité, « Culture » (1998), « Naissance » (1999), « La gare » (2008) sont quelques-unes des œuvres intemporelles d’Espylon Pont exposées depuis le début de l’année chez La CHOOSE Galerie, dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris. L’artiste y présente aussi ses dernières réalisations mêlant joie, tristesse et mélancolie. Découvrez ses toiles inédites de 2020 où il orchestre à la perfection les jeux de couleurs et de contrastes : « Le Charron » ; « La décrépitude de l’âme » ; « En famille » ; « Louis Armstrong » ; « Place en Inde » ou encore « Solidarité ».

  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle

© 2020 by La CHOOSE Galerie - GlossaireMentions Légales