Discover the work of Epsylon Point, street artist and pioneer of urban art in France.

French urban art

From Ernest Pignon-Ernest to C215, via Jef Aérosol and Epsylon Point , France has some of the best talents in Urban art . Stencil, graffiti, mosaic, stickers: how did Urban art emerge in France? Who are the most influential French street artists?

Over 50 years of history

The origins of Urban art in France coincide with the events of May 1968 when Ernest Pignon-Ernest painted the first frescoes with spray paint on the walls of the Bourse du Commerce in Paris. At that time, urban art was a way like any other to be heard, to convey political messages visible to all. It was only with the advent of the stencil, a technique for printing images on a rigid surface, that urban art took on a more substantial dimension.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The stencil offered extensive artistic possibilities compared to other forms of urban art. Facilitating the reproduction of portraits and patterns on flat surfaces, this technique also allowed the combination of different tones of color. But making a stencil on a facade was no easy task. Indeed, the stencils had to show speed of execution and daring, but above all possess a real artistic talent.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Despite the risks and the difficulties, the stencils of this generation managed to appropriate the urban space to carry out their works, imbued with strong, poetic and protesting messages. Jef Aérosol and his famous large Parisian fresco on Place Igor Stravinsky; Miss Tic and her calligraphic epigrams, Jérôme Mesnager and his famous "Man in White" or even Blek le Rat have marked the history of French Urbanism to the point of becoming sources of inspiration for the young generation.

Urban art and the street

Despite the institutionalization of Urban art in art galleries and museums, this movement has not lost the essence that characterizes it from other forms of art, namely: an art of the street and for the street. The street is above all an open space, a meeting place that promotes exchanges, dissemination and confrontation of ideas. The performance of street artists is linked to a form of transgression in public space, and the finesse of their calligraphy is taken to the extreme, to the point of encryption.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

"Writing on the walls is a claiming act: even if it is aesthetic, it is necessarily political, because visible by all and imposed on everyone, whatever their taste", dixit Epsylon Point, the pioneer of color stencils.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In the 8th arrondissement of Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie has been offering a personal exhibition of works from Epsylon Point since the start of the year. The artist presents an unpublished collection of his outstanding works, some historical such as “Errar es humano” from 1987 and “Culture” from 1998, but also his latest works: “Le Charron”, “Je suis Charlie”, “Place en India ”,“ The decrepitude of the soul ”.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Epsylon Point addresses through its works different themes: from the human condition, to societal issues as well as to eroticism and music.

Découvrez l’œuvre d’Epsylon Point, street artiste et pionnier de l’art urbain en France.

Urban art français

D’Ernest Pignon-Ernest à C215, en passant par Jef Aérosol et Epsylon Point, la France compte quelques-uns des meilleurs talents de l’Urban art (art urbain). Pochoir, graffiti, mosaïque, stickers : comment l’Urban art a émergé dans l’Hexagone ? Qui sont les street artists français les plus influents ?

Plus de 50 ans d’histoire

Les origines de l’Urban art en France coïncident avec les évènements de Mai 1968 lorsqu’Ernest Pignon-Ernest réalisait les premières fresques à la bombe de peinture sur les murs de la Bourse du commerce à Paris. À cette époque, l’art urbain était un moyen comme un autre de se faire entendre, de véhiculer des messages politiques visibles de tous. Ce n’est qu’avec l’avènement du pochoir, une technique d’impression d’images sur une surface rigide, que l’art urbain connait une dimension plus conséquente.

Le pochoir offrait des possibilités artistiques étendues comparativement à d’autres formes de l’Urban art. Facilitant la reproduction de portraits et de motifs sur les surfaces planes, cette technique permettait également la combinaison de différentes tonalités de couleur. Mais réaliser un pochoir sur une façade n’était pas une mince affaire. En effet, les pochoiristes devaient faire montre de vitesse d’exécution et d’audace, mais surtout posséder un réel talent artistique.

Malgré les risques et les difficultés, les pochoiristes de cette génération sont parvenus à s’approprier l’espace urbain pour y exécuter leurs œuvres, empreintes de messages forts, poétiques et revendicatifs. Jef Aérosol et sa célèbre grande fresque parisienne place Igor Stravinsky ; Miss Tic et ses épigrammes calligraphiés, Jérôme Mesnager et son fameux « Homme en Blanc » ou encore Blek le Rat ont marqué l’histoire de l’Urban français jusqu’à devenir des sources d’inspiration pour la jeune génération.

Urban art et la rue

Malgré l’institutionnalisation de l’Urban art dans les galeries d’art et les musées, ce mouvement n’a pas perdu l’essence qui le caractérise des autres formes d’art, à savoir : un art de la rue et pour la rue. La rue est avant tout un espace ouvert un lieu de rencontre qui favorise les échanges, la diffusion, l’affrontement des idées. La performance des street artistes est liée à une forme de transgression dans l’espace public, et la finesse de leur calligraphie est poussée à l’extrême, jusqu’au cryptage.

« Écrire sur les murs est un acte revendicateur : même si c’est esthétique, c’est obligatoirement politique, car visible par tous et imposé à chacun, quel que soit son goût », dixit Epsylon Point, le pionnier du pochoir en couleur.

Dans le 8e arrondissement de Paris, La CHOOSE Galerie propose depuis le début de l’année une exposition personnelle des œuvres d’Epsylon Point. L’artiste y présente une collection inédite de ses œuvres marquantes, certaines historiques comme « Errar es humano » de 1987 et « Culture » de 1998, mais aussi ses dernières réalisations : « Le Charron », « Je suis Charlie », « Place en Inde », « La décrépitude de l’âme ».

Epsylon Point aborde à travers ses œuvres différentes thématiques : de la condition humaine, aux questions sociétales ainsi qu’à l’érotisme et la musique.